An Evening with Derek and Sandra

So this past weekend the wife and I made our way out to the old alma mater for a concert by Derek Webb and his wife Sandra McCracken. Lee and I got there early and were able to hear Derek sound check to ‘Let It Be’, which was really cool. Sandra opened up and sang a couple songs that i’ve heard and a couple coming out on her new album. Then she brought her ‘band’ out, which was Derek, and sang a couple songs with him.

then after a break Derek came out and played a looong set, talked for awhile between each song, and it was great. It was like a VH1 storytellers. So he has a new album coming out on December 26, and sang a few songs off of that. it is basically going to be a call to the church to be actively involved in meeting the needs of the people around them. he did have one song that was anti-war, which was good and understandable, but I don’t if i’d agree with everything that it was based on. but it was a call for the government to wield the sword wisely.

then there was another love song called. “I Hate Everything But You”. he talked about how hard it is to write a good love song and to be honest. he said most pop love songs are ‘i’m great, your great, we can be great together…’ and his songs are more honest like, ‘i’m a train wreck, your a train wreck, together we’d be a trainwreck but God can work through us.’

the album sounds like its gonna be another great cd, i just have to wait until december 26th.

17 comments on “An Evening with Derek and Sandra

  1. dokew says:

    Are you familiar with the historic Christian doctrine of “just war”? I recently became aware of it and just got a book about it by Darrell Cole called “When God Says War is Right.”

  2. T-Bone says:

    oh yeah, it was a big topic at the college and has been somewhat discussed at sem.

  3. dokew says:

    And…what do you think? [or is this better discussed in person, re:huge topic]?

  4. Beth says:

    It is interesting reading the old testament because it is all about who killed who and Israel falling in and out of idolatry. There was no democracy, no voting, no war crimes tribunal…I wonder if people were more comfortable with death than we are today. They also only saw what they could walk over and watch- no TV bringing them the pictures of the various battles. And God lead Israel through many wars.

  5. dokew says:

    A temporary sidestep (sorry), Greek question – Why is “Sabbaths” plural in Mk.1:21? It’s a question on my homework and I can’t find the answer in Wallace. Is it a Hebraism? Did Jesus teach in the synagogue in Capernaum on several Sabbaths? Is it one of those odd Greek constructions? Help me here!
    Now back to our regularly scheduled program… “just war” doctrine…

  6. Matt says:

    The problem with modern war is that we try to fight it so that both sides go home happy. This is simply not possible. In a good war, one side takes a massive beating and goes home very very sad (if at all), In war, as in life, there are losers.

  7. Beth says:

    Tim- Hebrew question. I was reading II Kings and got to a section where it says something like “where these things not recorded?” after it describes a scenario- was that a common saying in Hebrew or what?

  8. T-Bone says:

    First, just war. I don’t know. I do know that Saddam deserved to get out and doesn’t deserve the treatment he’s getting now. i do think we mucked up the whole transition after the initial part, probably because of our pride. I haven’t spent much time on the ‘just war’ thought because I when I was around that debate it was not a situation i wanted to be involved in. It was just a bunch of people not trying to prove truth, but prove they were right.

    Beth- I’m going to have to have more to go on than that. I don’t recognize the passage, but might be able to help you if you pointed it out.

    Mom- the term ‘sabbaths’ is used sometimes to mean multiple weeks. they would count the weeks by how many sabbaths they had. I did a quick search for the word and there are other circumstances (Mt 12:1, Mk 2:23, and many uses of the genative plural, but I think that may be different)

  9. Beth says:

    What! You don’t have II Kings memorized?

    Here is an example- II Kings 12:19 Now the rest of the acts of Joash and all that he did, are they not written in the book of the chronicles of the kings of Judah?

    then in the following chapters it has that “are they not written in the book of chronicles of the kings of Judah?” after each major event.

  10. dokew says:

    Just a thought, Beth…there are extrabiblical writings quoted in Scripture from time to time. I remember in Kings and Chronicles it often mentions another book, now lost, that outlined Jewish history. I can’t remember the name of it off the top of my head, but that may be the one you’re looking at.

    Thanks, Tim. I just wanted to make sure it wasn’t a Hebraism. I looked at companion verses in Matthew and Luke and they use the plural, but with a more expected construction. I’ve looked all through Wallace, Mounce and Lexicons & don’t find any special meaning of the plural. It must just be an odd construction. (I know that plural neuter nouns can take either singular or plural verbs – but I don’t think that applies here. I’ll look at it again.)

  11. Beth says:

    What’s with Lost playing the same episode 3 times in one month?

  12. T-Bone says:

    they are apparently saving the great episodes for the november sweeps. chuckers.

  13. dokew says:

    Well, it’s the first time I saw that episode. It explained a lot for me and was pretty exciting (though I’m sure it was much more exciting the first time around!).

  14. Jen says:

    I left a comment, did you delete it on me?

    What I said was:
    They are showing the same one for the people who don’t catch all of it the first couple of times they show it… You know, the “slow” people! πŸ™‚

    That was supposed to appear right after Beths comment. Did it lose it’s affect?

  15. Jen says:

    Hey reading over the comment up there that Matt made, was he refering to my “mother bear” instinct with the whole soccer thing? or am I just sensitive?

  16. wendy says:

    Jen! Matt doesn’t read your blog (sorry, but beads are just not his thing)- so no he was not referring to you!!! You know Matt, if you get him going on the whole war thing, he has a lot to say.

    You never anwered my comment on your blog….

  17. dokew says:

    For all of you who have been waiting with baited breath about the plural “Sabbaths” thing in Mark…in the LXX the term is often plural, and Mark may be imitating that. (He uses lots of other Hebraisms, too…using “AND” so much, though you don’t see that in the English translation, “what to me and to you?” an idiom, etc.)I looked up the companion verse in John and the plural is used there, but with the idea that Jesus taught in the synagogue on multiple Sabbaths, so that’s what I went with. The LXX use of the plural is another possibility, though. There, now you can all sleep better at night… πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

