Narnia- A Night To Remember


So last night the wife and I and a bunch of friends went to go see the movie. We were supposed to see it on Friday night, but she wasn’t feeling well and we were both really tired after the jr high christmas party and i had a large paper to write for class this week. So we went to the same place last night. We saw it at the El Capitan Theater on Hollywood Blvd. This was Leah’s first time in Hollywood on foot (we had driven through a couple times). The theater is across the street from Graumann’s Chinese Theater (the one with the cement hand and footprints) and the Kodak Theater. Now this area has totally changed since I was there when Rick, Rachel, and I were viewing the college.

The El Cap is Disney owned, so pretty much any big Disney movie is showing there when its released. They had a ton of the props from the movie like Peter’s sword and shield, Susans bow, quiver, and arrows, Edmunds throne, Susan’s dress, the White Witch’s dress in her first scene along with a lot of other props and masks from a lot of the creatures. There was also this stone guy that was supposed to be like Tumnus, and it was only when you got up close to it, he’d move and you realize it was a person. And outside they had these foamy bubbles that look like snow falling.

Inside the theater they had stone statues on either side of the stage and a huge lions head that looked like it was ice above the stage. We weren’t able to get a seat on the first leve, but the balcony wasn’t bad. they had this little music and light show before the movie and then suddenly the snow stuff started shooting out of the walls and then the movie started. it was all very cool.

Ok, the movie. I loved it! I was on the corner of my seat the whole time. I was still kind of afraid that some of the graphics were going to be cheesy, but they weren’t. I was also afraid of some lines missing, but some were moved or tweaked a bit. Since the book isn’t that big, they had to expand it a lot, and it didn’t seem like they were abusive in what they added.

What I didn’t like. I thought they could have made Aslan a little more majestic and powerful. I kept waiting for him to roar and blow us out of the seats, but it never came. It might have been that the sound system in the old theater was as good as new theaters, but I dont’ think so. They moved my favorite line about Aslan where Lucy asks the beavers if he’s safe and they say, “Oh no! He’s not safe! But he’s good.” and put it at the end. I thought that could have been placed in the Beaver scene when they reveal the plot. And to replace the word ‘safe’ with ‘tame’ took something out. And at that point, Lucy already knew this so it wasn’t as significant.

So what were your favorite parts? Use the post below to write stuff about what you didn’t like or theological discussions about what was included and what C.S. Lewis wrote.

This entry was posted in movies.

8 comments on “Narnia- A Night To Remember

  1. Beth'sMomToo says:

    Aslan roared pretty loud in our theater, but it was a new one. You’ll just have to see it again in a NEW theater. Surround sound adds a definite element.

    I was really moved by it, but I knew the story AND the allegory. I don’t know if someone totally unfamiliar with Lewis would get it, but it certainly is a conversation starter for those who didn’t understand! I also think it would be a mistake to take a very young child. They just wouldn’t understand, and it is too frightening for really young kids, but great for us “older” ones. I guess sometimes a parent really wants to see a film and pushes the age limit with their child. I remember being so enticed. But I did try to be careful. I remember the first movie I ever took Beth to see was a classic Disney movie, Snow White maybe? I even remember which theater it was in at South Willow. I had to take her out several times throughout the movie because she just couldn’t concentrate for that long.

    Tim, on the other hand…I remember snoozing through The Transformers movie, wishing I could just leave you and go next door to see Top Gun. You, on the other hand, were mesmerized through every minute of that stupid, pointless, poorly cartooned movie. [If you had ever wanted to see a sequel (was there one?) I would have sent your father with you. Enough torture is enough!]

  2. J.R. Freiberg says:

    Tim,

    You asked for it so here are my thoughts:

    – I surprisingly was disappointed. I think I hyped it up too much in my head before I saw it cause I was really excited for it.
    – I think I just couldnt avoid comparing it with Lord of the Rings which has the advantage of having more developed characters and isnt a kids book
    – In my head when I read the chronicles of Narnia, even as a kid, I pictured the death of Aslan and the battle scene as being a whole lot gorier. Maybe I’m just sick. It just seems like you miss a lot of the allegorical significance and power without at least some blood, but again a kids movie
    – Peter bugged the crap out of me, and I didnt like how they toned down the “rotteness” of Edmund by almost making him the victim of Peter’s constant nagging. I would have sold my brother for turkish delight if that Peter was my brother as well. I like how there was absolutely nothing likeable about the edmund in the book, makes Aslan’s forgiveness more powerful
    – where the heck did Rupert Everet as the gay fox come from?
    – The wolves were annoying, over dramatic
    -have I upset anyone yet?
    – The use of tim burton’s midget (willie wonka – oompa loompa, big fish – mr. soggybottom) for the dwarf was weird, especially that awkward scene when Susan shoots him. the audience didnt know whether to laugh or to cheer or what
    – why tights? that was probably my favorite thing about Lord of the Rings, no tights
    – when the old Peter came on the audience burst into laughter. way corny, even worse that some of the people i was with said i look like him. I really hated Peter.
    -all that to say that I still think it was an alright movie and I would probably like it a lot more if I saw it again now that I know what to expect
    – I cant believe I spent this much time thinking about this, its soo your fault Im gonna fail my Hebrew final tommorrow

  3. J.R. Freiberg says:

    i also agree with you on the Aslan thing. I was in a new theater but didnt really feel the power. maybe cause i’ve blown my ears out listening to my crazy rock music who knows. but this an anthropomorphic Christ figure – come on! I want to feel that roar! make my ears ring!

    ps who comes up with these verification words? whats a zvjynq?

  4. Jen says:

    When I saw the movie (with Betsy’s class) love those field trips šŸ™‚ I was able to sit next to a Mom, I am not too sure where she stands yes, her kids go to CCS, but that means nothing as you know! I was able to explain a lot to her through the movie, it was good. She was speechless at the end of the movie, (she had never read the book, I am letting her borrow ours to read to her other kids before they go see it!) is that good Deb? šŸ™‚ But, all in all I thought they were true to the book, with a few tweeks as you said Tim, they were needed. and out here, the Lion knocked you of your seats. My hair was blown back! and the snow wasn’t falling in the theater but, it sure was cold. was that for affect or just to keep people awake? hmmm…. Can’t wait to see in again. and you have my permission to skip the lost forum for this week, what it with the reruns? boooo….One more thing. no one seemed to laugh at the mention of lost being in narnia? do you not think it is? šŸ˜‰ and here is the word of the day zytxuq
    I agree, what kind of word it that?

  5. T-Bone says:

    John- they actually asked me what verification words to use, and so i just gave them a few ideas… they’re actually greek and hebrew alliterations.

    i thought rupert everett was an odd choice for the fox too, but I liked the fox character.

    as far as the blood goes, I think they were pushing Narnia to be more of a kids classic movie than an adult movie. I don’t think that stuff was necessary, and while it might have made it better for me, it would have gotten in the way of kids being able to see it. And with the kind of movies they’re making for kids these days, this is a welcome breath of fresh air.

    as far as Peter’s and Edmund’s characters, i thought they portrayed them really well. You don’t really like any of them except for Lucy at the beginning, but you see them grow. And they do a good job at portraying Edmund’s betrayal and didn’t make it look like he was forced into the betrayal.

    You’re totally right on the two scenes where people laughed. They laughed at my showing, too, but I think we probably both saw it in ‘inner city’ situations where certain people have been known to ‘interact’ with the screen. But i didn’t like how soggybottom always made me want to laugh. I wanted to despise him and think he was totally evil, but all I could think was that he was a funny little man. Then when Peter’s older self came on the screen, EVERYONE laughed. I was upset because it took me out of the movie and was mad at the people ruining the mood.

    Jen- keeping Lost out of this. while I did think about lost when I saw the polar bears, Lost doesn’t hold a candle to Narnia.

    Mom- TRANSFORMERS ROCKED

  6. J.R. Freiberg says:

    agreed on the Transformers…more than meets the eye

  7. Jen says:

    I was only kidding about that narnia/lost thing! I would NEVER put them on the same level!! NEVER!!

  8. Beth'sMomToo says:

    Transformers must have been a guy thing.

    It’s interesting that John found himself comparing Chronicles with Lord of the Rings. That didn’t occur to me, so I wasn’t disappointed. The only thing I had in mind was the old BBC version, and this new version wins hands down! And think about the difference in the books! The Chronicles are quite simplistic and The LOR Trilogy is MUCH more complex, especially in character development. They are really not comparable. I’d have been disappointed, too, if that is what I had in mind.

    No one in our theater laughed, but I did find myself annoyed at one point with the way Peter held the sword. But then as the movie developed, it began to hit me that a kid his age from our culture would probably react the same way! (except for Ian and John, of course…John- did you have an older brother? It matures you šŸ˜‰ I agree with Tim that they showed character development. I liked the child actors in this a lot more than I liked the ones in the BBC production. And I don’t have a problem with tights…;)

    Jen,
    Way to go, girl. Push those books! Read…read…read… [hey, I could make an exercise tape promoting reading!]

Leave a Reply

