Narnia- Questions, Dislikes, and Theological Insights

Ok folks, this post is for our questions, dislikes, and theological insights on the movie. just want to keep them separate from the previous post.

This entry was posted in movies.

8 comments on “Narnia- Questions, Dislikes, and Theological Insights

  1. T-Bone says:

    Ok, lets get this one going!

    This is obviously an allegory to a certain extent, but I like to call it an analogy instead, just because it isn’t supposed to translate straight over. Everything doesn’t mean something.

    This past week i got the new issue of Christian History and Biography magazine (a great magazine to subscribe to) and it was on C.S. Lewis. Now they’ve already had an issue on him, but this is all new stuff. I was reading it last night and it was more of an analogy and Lewis said something like this:

    “Think more about what Christ did for us and then think about planting Aslan down in Narnia and what do you think would happen?”

    I’ll try to get that direct quote up.

    So its supposed to be an analogy/allegory, but where is it incorrect. I’m thinking of probably the biggest place it breaks down, but I want to see what you all think first.

  2. Beth'sMomToo says:

    Edmond didn’t have to believe in Aslan…no vehicle of faith. If you read the final book of the series, you’ll see LOTS of breakdowns. Lewis did have some stands we wouldn’t agree with, but what a great apologist he was. [Tolkein did a better fantasy, though.]There’s a book out about the group of men that met regularly and fed each other ideas (including Tolkein) called “The Inklings”, the name they called themselves, by Humphrey Carpenter. If you ever want to read a bio, I’d be glad to refer a good one. (there are several with lots of inaccurate info!)

    And when will I receive my first issue of that mag? I’ve been anxiously awaiting!

  3. T-Bone says:

    yeah, it mentioned the Inklings in the mag. it talked about how they’d bring their works together and the Screwtape Letters, Narnia, and The Hobbit were three works the group went over.

  4. T-Bone says:

    I thought the biggest thing that jumped out to me was the idea of a Ransom Theology. It is something that some people hold to, but I don’t think Lewis did. The idea is that Aslan needed to pay the debt to the White Witch, but Christ didn’t pay a debt to Satan. (side note-although i don’t think the white witch was necessarily satan) the only person that needed thing be paid was God’s wrath. Art Azurdia pointed that out in a message at the college. (mom i think you have that one in a package that you got)

  5. Beth'sMomToo says:

    A package I got, or am going to get?
    I haven’t seen anything like that arrive yet.

    I’ve never heard of Ransom Theology (that’s why I keep you around 😉

    I guess it depends on how far you want to break down the story as an analogy, and we know all analogies do eventually break down. Narnia handled the requirement of blood shed for sin as part of the ‘deep magic’, which also gets mentioned in ‘The Magician’s Nephew’. I think Lewis was trying to tell a good fantasy from a Christian POV. I think his main point in Lion, Witch & Wardrobe was the consequences of sin and the substitutionary atonement of Christ. I don’t think you can carry it much beyond that in direct analogy.

  6. Elias says:

    another breakdown that i mentioned to my students has to do with the spell the witch put over Narnia, making it always winter but never Christmas for 100 years. Aslan came, created the world, set it in good order and then was not there for at least a period of 100 years.

    of course this is an analogy and Lewis knew that Christ would never leave us, but it can be a lesson learned: How terrible would it be to have 100 years without celebrating Christmas? Christ is with us not only at Christmas but all year long. We need to celebrate Christmas with exceedingly great joy, realizing how blessed Christmas is.

  7. T-Bone says:

    that’s why i prefer to call it an analogy instead of an allegory. everything doensn’t relate to the spiritual realm, and Lewis never meant it to.

  8. Beth'sMomToo says:

    OH…I just got it. You meant the tape by Art Azurdia! I’m slow, but eventual…I’ll look for it. I’ve saved all the chapel tapes I’ve gotten. There are some really good ones in there. I’ve been meaning to get another year’s selection. (Maybe I could get them via Amy, unless my son has an “in”….)

Leave a Reply

