Heard Some News

I was looking on a blog today, and saw a letter Piper had read to his church saying that he has discovered he has prostrate cancer. He said he will hopefully be undergoing treatment to remove the prostrate in February.

Read the Letter Here

10 comments on “Heard Some News

  1. wendy says:

    prostate

  2. T-Bone says:

    haha, yeah, sorry about that. I was typing with a large cotton wrap on my finger and was having trouble hitting the right keys all day.

  3. Beth'sMomToo says:

    Of course he will “be” prostrate when his prostate is removed. šŸ™‚ Ahhh, what a difference one letter can make…What’s really funny is that I READ it the way it should have been! Good eye, Wendy!

  4. Beth says:

    What a great letter! Personally, I think removing the prostate is overly-aggressive considering the lowly aggressive type of cancer and considering the numerous non-invasive treatments out there.

  5. Jen says:

    I read it the right way too, then saw Wendys comment oops! So, my question is, 1 time written wrong because of a bum finger but 2 times Tim? haha…thanks for sharing the news with us. He is on our prayer list too. Phil was very impressed with the letter and they way he wrote things the sentence that hit Phil the most was: “the most dangerous thing in the world is self-reliance and the stupor of worldliness. The news of cancer has a wonderfully blasting effect on both. I thank God for that.”
    Thanks again Tim for sharing the news, as dreadful as it can be!

  6. Beth'sMomToo says:

    I’ve just started reading the second volume of his “swans” series, The Hidden Smile of God [the fruit of affliction in the lives of John Bunyan, William Cowper (pronounced “Cooper”;)and David Brainerd]. 21st Century American Christians have an incredibly warped sense of trials in the Christian life, usually not a true Biblical sense of their significance. Piper gets it, as his letter demonstrated. Bunyan quotes 2Cor.1:9 “We had the sentence of death within ourselves so that we would not trust in ourselves, but in God who raises the dead.” and then says “…the way not to faint, is to ‘look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen; for the things which are seen are temporal, but the things which are not seen are eternal.’ Suffering is a normal and useful and essential element in Christian life and ministry. It not only weans us off the world and teaches us to live on God, but also makes those who minister better able to strengthen the church (it’s not JUST about us as individuals!). For nothing glorifies God more than maintaining our stability and joy when we lose everything but God. Piper warns that “that day is coming for each of us, and we do well to get ready, and to help the people we love get ready.” Piper got ready!

    Btw, I have a book of poems by Cowper. When you know all he struggled with in his earthly life, it makes his poems concerning God all that more powerful!

  7. T-Bone says:

    mom,
    I had an interesting coversation with a friend of mine after I read the book a couple years ago. We read the book and weren’t really sure of Cowper’s salvation. Since then I’ve learned a bit more about depression and the people that suffer from it.

    Yesterday I was talking to Justin about suffering and American Christians and I was talking about a realization I came to right before I left for Uganda a couple years ago. I had thought that I really knew what suffering was. I looked at the way I naturally choose to live my life, bereft of many luxuries, not likeing to spend lots of money, not liking a lot of things material, and I thought that I knew what suffering was. But then I was reading some stuff by PIper and realized I didn’t necessarily know what suffering was because those things never really caused me to suffer. That was just the way that I chose to live my life. There really wasn’t any suffering involved. And that scared me leading into the Uganda trip because I knew that I would have another idea of what suffering was, and i think i got a better glimpse of it there.

  8. Beth'sMomToo says:

    I agree with you that WE often label things as “suffering” too readily. But in the lives of those three men Piper mentions in his book, THEY understood true suffering, as did Solzhenitsyn, whom he also quotes. Few Americans experience that type of true suffering, or the suffering you saw in Africa.

    Now you’ve got me thinking about the examples of “suffering” in the Bible- it was usually PERSECUTIONS for their faith, wasn’t it? You don’t really hear Paul mentioning physical ailments as “suffering”, now that I think of it. Hmmmm… He does mention physical problems, but doesn’t label them “suffering” or “trials” (telling Timothy to take a little wine for his stomach, mentioning his own “thorn in the flesh” – which, btw, we tend to translate as a possible problem with his eyes…BUT it’s more likely he was talking about “spiritual” thorns in the flesh…the Judaizers who followed him around and constantly disrupted his ministry). Now that I think about it, it seems that 1st century believers considered physical ailments to be a fact of life, not as some extraordinary occurrence. [Rom.8:23 “the first fruits of the Spirit, even we ourselves groan within ourselves, waiting eagerly for our adoption as sons, the redemption of our body” and 1Cor.4:16 “our outer nature is wasting away” and Rom.8:20 the whole creation “was subjected to futility”. (Like what Beth posted about her physical body being the “word I refuse to use in polite company”.)

    I don’t mean to minimize the pain and degenerative ailments today’s believers go through, but maybe we’re not looking at them in the same way that 1st Century believers did. Even Paul’s prayers are focused on spiritual growth, perseverance in the faith, etc. This is worth pondering!

  9. Beth says:

    Hello- no post about Lost yet? I guess it is still 5:30 am CA time.

  10. Beth'sMomToo says:

    You’d better post about Lost. I’ve got stuff to say! [I have read a few interesting things about the storyline.] So…WAKE UP…(although it’s 8 AM your time and you’re probably headed to or in class…BUT post ASAP)

Leave a Reply

