A little Sick…

ahhhh, well, if you want to throw up a little in your mouth, go ahead and check this out. to quote Todd Bolen, “I wonder how many of these people will actually be in Heaven?”

50 Most Influential Christians in America

11 comments on “A little Sick…

  1. Beth says:

    Ann Graham Lotz makes me want to puke in her face everytime I see her.

    I’m surprised they named Piper considering the others on the list.

  2. Beth'sMomToo says:

    At least Piper made the list! It’s interesting to analyze WHO was chosen – “media” people, those who deal with “thousands”, etc. I’m glad God examines hearts, not numbers and media coverage! (It would have been interesting to see their definition of “Christian”.)So Dr. Phil beat out MacArthur, Sproul and Al Mohler, huh? And where were Dean Mangum or Loren Murray listed? Frankly, I think it would be kind of embarrassing to be on the same list with some of those people! I’d prefer God’s recognition – “Well done thou good and faithful servant”.

  3. Beth'sMomToo says:

    Ah Beth, you have such a delicate way of phrasing things. πŸ˜‰

  4. Beth'sMomToo says:

    As I’ve been pondering…something else occurred to me. They’re talking about “influential Christians” in this article. Except for Pres. Bush, I don’t think ANY of these people are from a secular walk of life. Where are the influential Christian doctors? scientists? teachers? machinists? lawyers? truck drivers? Is a Christian only considered “influential” if he/she works in the ministry and/or is an author? Do we expect only THEY should have an influence in our culture? This gets back to Ian’s point from long ago and far away about the impact of Christianity on a believer, about how what a believer “sees” impacts how he lives and represents God’s POV in his culture…”rabbit in the woods”, epistemology, etc…remember?

  5. Beth says:

    That’s like when Reagen wanted the best Christians for positions the only one they could come up with was C.E. Koop. I think it is partly b/c they are picking the celebrities- and those are the ones selling the books, those that have the mega churches, and those involved with the media. World magaizine has a Daniel of the year- this year it was an artist who was a Christian- that was cool- someone using their profession to proclaim Christ.

  6. Ian says:

    “Most Influencial Christians”….

    Notice it didn’t say what kind of influence….

    That list nearly made me cry (after throwing up in my mouth, of course), for a few reasons. I read the write up on the #1 guy. In three paragraphs there was not one word about God, Christ, the gospel, or the Church (sure, his huge “c”hurch, but not the “C”hurch). Not one. I did a quick glance through the rest of the list and could count on one hand the mentions of these for all 50 people. Maybe the problem isn’t so much the people that got on the list, but the people who compiled it.
    Also, a few of those people have had their reputations tarnished by being on that list along side the likes of Benny Hinn, Paul Crouch, Sr., Haggee, Joyce Myers, L’il Joel Osteen, and others.
    Finally, I was reminded of the lure of this world and how right it can seem to please the masses rather than God. One guy in particular on that list, Rob Bell from Mars Hill Church in Michigan, was very influencial to me personally. Michelle’s aunt and uncle and cousins go to his church, and we’ve visited while out there on vacations. This man, on multiple occassions, presented the word in such a powerful way that it was him that God used to ignite the desire to teach and preach in me. Now it seems (not just from being on this list) he’s into all the mega-church mentality (as opposed to reaching as many people as possible with the gospel), and has bought into stuff like the crowd pleasing gender inclusive bible, etc. Very sad.

    Deb,
    Thanks for mentioning my rabbit!

    Also, it was nice to see you mention Dad. I actually have a neat story about him that Michelle and I just heard from Cindy. This comment is long enough, so I won’t write it out now, but I’m thinkning about posting it on my blog, so you can check over there later today or tomorrow.

    Ian

  7. Beth'sMomToo says:

    You’re probably correct in assuming those who purchase that particular publication are not necessarily capable of determining who is REALLY influential. They are the ones who voted, right? So the resulting list would be rather meaningless in such a context. I like World’s attempt to name a Daniel of the Year. They have legitimate criteria AND well-informed decision makers doing the choosing. Still, any such choice ultimately breaks down at some point. People who are truly influential for the Lord are not seeking recognition for it, if their motivation is correct. I have a feeling Piper probably had the attitude of “thanks, but no thanks” when he found out. Ian, I’m curious about the Pastor you mentioned. Do you know for a fact that he has turned in this direction? Or are you making an assumption based upon his illustrious company on the list? I’m guessing you have personal knowledge about it, which makes it so sad. Once you start down that road of manipulating (rather Charles Finneyish), of wanting to be all things to all people, you change your focus from being on God to being on people’s “felt needs” (NOT their REAL needs). It’s a slippery slope. My gut reaction is that this is just WRONG, Biblically wrong, and it smacks of human “reasoning” and worldly defined needs (man-determined psychological terms like “felt needs” being a prime example!), rather than Biblically defined ones. I become so disappointed and frustrated when I see someone I have long admired or who has had a big influence in my Christian life become infatuated with it. I want to yell, “This is NOT what you taught me!”

  8. T-Bone says:

    when Leah was looking at the list last night, i wondered at how, if the pope is one the list, he managed to get 44. Isn’t that kind of odd? I mean, if your the type to put him on the list, wouldn’t you be the type to rank him a bit higher than 44. maybe higher than Sean Hannity or Creflo Dollar. just odd.

  9. Jen says:

    I am just wondering about Dr Phil????? what is up with that?
    half of these people I have never heard of (or if I have it went in one ear and right out the other!) Phil had a good chuckle at it too, in an odd sort of way! I am glad that I am not the one to make the call as to who is and who isn’t! I think that we should come up with one and post it somewhere and see if it gets any notice πŸ˜‰

  10. Beth'sMomToo says:

    Personally, I don’t like the idea of making such a list. Recognition of that kind is NOT the reason people serve God and I can’t see promoting such an idea. But I DO think we should be thanking God and praying for people who we are aware of who are selflessly serving for the correct reasons. Phil.2:29 “…hold such men in esteem.”

  11. Beth'sMomToo says:

    Since thinking about things such as this ties in with my current Philippians study rather nicely, I’ve continued pondering…

    Beth brought up a good point about these voters having chosen “celebrities”. That made me think of Tim’s efforts to get his kids’ focus OFF celebrities and ON the kind of selfless believers in Phil.2 (Epaphroditus, Timothy, Paul). I don’t think this is just a problem with teens; it’s a lifelong challenge for all of us to “see” beyond the influence of our culture to what is important in God’s eyes. [You can tell how I have lots more “pondering” time these days. πŸ˜‰ Of course, right now I’m SUPPOSED to be “pondering” about the paper I’m writing on the influence of Jonathan Edwards!

Leave a Reply

