What to do with Lent…

I don’t know how many of you have heard about the conflict many Catholics find themselves having to deal with, but St. Patrick’s Day falls on a Friday this year, which is a Friday in Lent. Fridays during Lent are conventionally observed by abstaining from eating meat. Obviously many Catholics are also very Irish, and the main dish for such a holiday is Corned Beef and Cabbage. What to do?

Well, aparently the diocese in charge of San Bernadino and Riverside county out here is making an allowance for one to eat meat, but only the parishoners in those counties can eat the meat. LA county is still not allowing it. This is so wrong on so many levels. How can a church take such a hard stand on something and just say, oh, well, you don’t have to follow it this year. But then how could for one group on one side of a county line ‘sin’ by eating meat, but your neighbor on the otherside of the county line can. unbelievable.

7 comments on “What to do with Lent…

  1. Jen says:

    Aren’t you thankful that you can eat the meat! I didn’t even consider lent and that Friday is St. Patricks day! Hmmm…A good Corned Beef and cabbage meals sounds great, I think that we need to go out for it though, I don’t want to have that in my frig. while we are gone for the week.

    So…I think that we will go and don our orange apparel and head out to dinner!

    Happy St. Patty’s Day! (tomorrow)

  2. Beth says:

    I don’t see that as inconsistent at all for RCC. They’re making up and breaking rules that are arbitrary and have nothing to do with the Bible.
    The past few years I have thought about going to a mass on Ash Wed and get my ashes- thought it would be a way to acknowledge myself as a christian (and we were even encouraged by some in the seeker friendly church I was going to). After Sohmer’s class on how the RCC is a cult and all the rediculous and anti-bibilical, anti-Christ things they do I want nothing to do with the RCC. Especially after going through 1st John with my Bible study here- we are to passionately against the type of thing the RCC is doing, as well as seeker churches.

    The lent St. Patrick’s day dilemma would be good to bring up to Catholics I know- maybe to bring up the point of pointless legalism.

  3. Beth'sMomToo says:

    It surprises me how comfortable people can be with arbitrariness. It has become such an ingrained way of life that one forgets there IS actually a clear authority – God’s Word. Once you begin to depart from or ignore that, you can end up anywhere. A secondary consequence is you end up focusing on the departures and no longer pay attention to the real authority anymore. (Our natural man seems to be more comfortable with the path of the Pharisee. Being “religious” on the outside is a lot easier than dealing with our heart.)

    Beth, what you wrote about being encouraged to participate in Ash Wednesday [I would have been horrified if you had!] also reminds me of the growing push towards ecumenism! I hadn’t thought about seeker churches contributing to this, but I now see how it can happen. When your main focus becomes attracting people to your church, there would be a growing tendancy to add on whatever you think would appeal to people. Ritual appeals to people…those raised in Catholicism might be more comfortable…etc.

  4. Beth'sMomToo says:

    Jen,
    1) You HAVE Irish roots? I thought you were pure Scandanavian. [I thought you only celebrated St. Olaf’s Day 😉 Are there any special foods to go with that? Swedish meatballs? that disgusting pickled fish dish?]

    2)Your ancestors are from Northern Ireland? So are mine! (I’m Scotch-Irish, but I don’t think I would go so far as wearing orange on St.Patrick’s Day! Could be bad for your health…particularly in Boston!)

    Has anyone ever read about Patrick? From what I have read, he was probably a believer [the RC church was not yet predominant during his lifetime]. It would be good to honor his evangelistic zeal, ignoring, of course, all of the later “St.” trappings the RC church added on. (and the snake thing probably isn’t true…;)

  5. Jen says:

    NO, I am not Irish, (well, my grandma doesn’e know what she is) except on the 17th. But aren’t we all? Just put that there for fun!

    Ash Wednesday, I do remember telling someone (not too long ago) that they had something on their forehead! OOPS!!!

  6. Beth'sMomToo says:

    You’ll ALL be relieved to hear that Irish Catholics in Boston have also been given the go ahead to eat meat today. Of course, when have the Irish Catholics in Boston ever needed permission to do whatever they darn well pleased?

  7. Paddy O'Furniture says:

    Saints be prraised…Nigh’ I cin ate me carned beef witoot brringin’ shame to Mary! Slainte! Tis Saint Paddy’s day in Sowt Baston!

Leave a Reply

