Exercising Body and Mind

Yesterday I discovered that it’s probably NOT a good idea to exercise BOTH body and mind at the same time. Now that Spring hath sprung, I have been taking daily walks. Usually I listen to books-on-tape or read fiction while I walk, something I have done for years and gotten quite good at. I can see the edge of the road in my peripheral vision as I read and have never experienced a problem before. (I DO look up and pay attention when a car comes, btw…) But yesterday I received a used copy of a classic archaeology book in the mail about religion in the Ancient Near East and I just couldn’t wait to read it. So arming myself with a pencil to mark important spots, off I went. Apparently reading NONfiction takes more concentration than reading fiction, because after walking about a half mile, my left foot went off the edge of the pavement in a place where it had built up pretty high in comparison to the dirt on the shoulder…and down I went. I spent several minutes writhing in pain and then realized I had to get up and hobble my way back home…on my injured ankle! Pain…pain…pain… Mr.C. actually passed me in his dump truck, but because he was coming from behind me and because I was limping…he didn’t realize it was me and went right past me!! While I am thankful he doesn’t pick up strange women on the side of the road, I really DID wish he had given me a ride back!

But nothing is broken and I just have to remain in an air splint and on crutches for a week. It is turning out to be quite problematic, however. How do I transport books from the office to the living room? How do I carry my coffee and breakfast into the living room in the AM? And then there are household tasks…carrying laundry, ironing, picking up, vacuuming, making meals, etc. that are just beyond me right now without a little help. We’re on spring break from school this week and I HAD intended to do some badly needed catching up (especially work on my paper for Greek, exegeting I Peter 3:18-22…I’ll let you know if I become the first person in the modern world to be able to exegete this passage definitively ;)…), so it looks like I’ll be FORCED to read and study since that is the only thing I can do right now while keeping my foot up. That’s what I wanted, right…?

9 comments on “Exercising Body and Mind

  1. Beth'sMomToo says:

    The Emergency Room called back yesterday to tell me that there actually was an “evulsion chip fracture” [don’t ask ME!!] on my ankle x-ray. I’m supposed to call my doctor Monday. So it looks like I will be getting more reading and studying time in than I had expected to.

    I’m getting better at figuring out ways to do things, but everything does take longer. There is no way I can stand on 1 leg long enough to shower, apply makeup and dry my hair. So I split it up and sit down and read in between. 😉 The tough part is it is so hard to get up and down the stairs to the primary bathroom, that I have to do everything as soon as I get up. (never a good time for me) I’ve also discovered my wardrobe will be limited to what I can easily and painlessly dress myself in and what is best for scooting up and down the stairs on my backside.

    I figured out I can carry a canvas bag on my shoulder to transport books, etc. and I think I will use a travel mug for transporting liquids (putting it in my canvas bag). The thing that is driving me the craziest, though, is not being able to collect dirty dishes or pick up and put things away. I have discovered things can get pretty awful around here once you take me out of the picture! I guess it is something I am just going to have to live with until I’m off crutches. sigh…what’s that verse in James 1 about trials producing patience? 😉

  2. Beth'sMomToo says:

    The Emergency Room called back yesterday to tell me that there actually was an “evulsion chip fracture” [don’t ask ME!!] on my ankle x-ray. I’m supposed to call my doctor Monday. So it looks like I will be getting more reading and studying time in than I had expected to.

    I’m getting better at figuring out ways to do things, but everything does take longer. There is no way I can stand on 1 leg long enough to shower, apply makeup and dry my hair. So I split it up and sit down and read in between. 😉 The tough part is it is so hard to get up and down the stairs to the primary bathroom, that I have to do everything as soon as I get up(never a good time for me. I’ve also discovered my wardrobe will be limited to what I can easily and painlessly dress myself in and what is best for scooting up and down the stairs on my backside.

    I figured out I can carry a canvas bag on my shoulder to transport books, etc. and I think I will use a travel mug for transporting liquids (putting it in my canvas bag). The thing that is driving me the craziest, though, is not being able to collect dirty dishes or pick up and put things away. I have discovered things can get pretty awful around here once you take me out of the picture! I guess it is something I am just going to have to live with until I’m off crutches. sigh…what’s that verse in James 1 about trials producing patience? 😉

  3. wendy says:

    Thought you might like this to use for sympathy Deb…… You’ve got mine!

    http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/avulsion-fracture/AN00200

  4. Beth says:

    I think the title of the blog should have been “reading injury” or something like that. Only you would get injured while reading.

    When I come down for my appt. I can help you with stuff around the house or get groceries etc.

  5. Beth'sMomToo says:

    Oh goody…my shoulders are killing me! (And the arthritis in my thumbs is aggravated by the pressure of my hands on the crutches. On the other hand, I am amazing myself with my ingenuity. The really important stuff…getting my cup of coffee and transporting books…is getting done. Oh…and I can still use a highlighter! 😉

  6. Beth'sMomToo says:

    I went to the Orthopedist today and it’s a combo good news/bad news. The good news is I don’t need any surgery! The bad news is that I have to wear the ski-boot cast for at least a month. He did say that eventually I will be healed enough to walk on it without the crutches…which will be wonderful! I asked for a temporary handicapped parking sticker and they told me no! They said since I will be able to walk on it eventually, that I can’t have one for the meantime. It seems a little odd to me that Kathy C. had the exact same cast, which she DID walk on eventually and she is able to walk slowly now without even a cane, and she got one. It’s probably because my problem is for a month or so and hers is lifelong. Still…I’d like them to walk a day on my crutches and see how it feels. (sing to the tune… “Walk a Mile in My Shoes”) How about one of you volunteer to drag me around in a Red Flyer wagon…or a wheelbarrow…

    I do have an encouraging bit of info though. I parked in front of the main doors at Dartmouth-Hitchcock because I knew I needed to sign in first. (I didn’t know you can actually check in at the end of the wing, too!) Then I hiked down to Orthopedics, handed over my labels and got a seat. At that point it occurred to me that I had left the x-rays in the backseat of my car! But a very nice man who was driving someone for the orthopedic visit offered to go get them for me. What a nice guy! Let me tell you…at that point I wouldn’t have cared if he took off in my car! So you see…there are still kind people in the world, and WE can probably all pay closer attention looking for opportunities to help others out. (I admit this may only be MY problem…I’ve usually got my nose in a book, or memorizing Greek vocab and thinking about a paper I’m working on, etc. Sometimes I don’t notice what’s going on right under my nose.)

  7. Doug Wilcox says:

    If you need anyone to push you around the MFA in a wheelbarrow, we volunteer!

    (Wouldn’t that be a hoot!)

  8. Doug Wilcox says:

    Does Mr. C. need to be trained in the “How to Be a 21st Century Husband While You’re Wife is an Invalid” department? The boys and I can offer lessons, although when a group of ladies from the church came over to clean last week, it was an illumination of the difference between the definitions of “clean” men and women have.

    You can use the guilt of him not recognizing you on the road as leverage. He ought to have noticed the red hair.

    Hee, hee.

    Nichelle and I both had a great laugh over your breaking your ankle while reading, but look at the valuable insight into attention level and multitasking as it relates to fiction versus nonfiction and your excitement about the new book.

    Oh, and get well soon.

  9. BethsMomToo says:

    This is funny! I came to read the new comment and realized I had written the post. My first reaction was, “How did this get onto TIM’S blog?” Then I remembered. . .I used to co-write on this blog. Now you know why I got my own and gave Tim a break. 😉 On my OWN blog, of course, I write about MUCH more important things. . . 😉

Leave a Reply

