this is the world we live in…

I’ve recently run across a few things that have surprised even me. The more time passes the more irrational people become.

Check out this story. Apparently talking about God makes a movie ‘dangerous’. but while i’m on this story, i don’t know if this is the bext example of God working in people’s lives. The description of the movie at the end might raise a false hope of God working in situations. just weird all around.

I loved the commentary on this story.

If you’ve ever wanted to run someone off the road, don’t worry. It wasn’t a sinful issue in your heart. It may have been Intermittent Explosive Disorder.

How much more people have to die or get raped before we deal with sex offenders differently? A sad ending to this story.

13 comments on “this is the world we live in…

  1. Beth says:

    Oh I know!! I heard the whole “intermittent explosive disorder” on NPR the other morning! This is another great examaple at how our society re-names sin to make ourselves feel better, and an example of how psychology is totally not a real science! Call it what it is- wrath, which is sin!

  2. Beth says:

    The scientology car is a great idea- no pit stops, no changing tires, no oil changes… I’m sure they’ll win every race!

    The sex offender things is disgusting… another load o’crap I heard on NPR was an interview with a sociologist (another bogus “science) who said that childerne were just pedophiles “sexual orientation”- like he was justifying it- it was disgusting to hear it rationalized… by an “expert”.

  3. Beth'sMomToo says:

    Uncontrollable anger is a disease, eh? If multiple episodes of depression actually change a person’s brain chemistry, couldn’t multiple episodes of uncontrolled anger also change a person’s brain chemistry? It could very well be that the behavior is producing what they are measuring, rather than vice versa (what they are measuring is causing the behavior). Of course, there would be personal accountability in that.

    People who allow their children to have temper tantrums are not doing them any favors. I remember I had a friend once who said she didn’t care how her kids screamed and raged as long as they ended up doing what she told them to. I don’t agree with that. You’re only encouraging uncontrolled behavior. A parent is supposed to teach their child HOW to control their behavior. It’s called acculturation.

  4. Doug Wilcox says:

    Well, people are slowly waking up about the dangers of child molestation.

    Governor Brad Henry of Oklahoma just approved the death penalty for anyone who is convicted “twice for rape, sodomy or lewd molestation involving children under 14.” See this article at Fox news.

    Have you read the book by Anna Salter that I recommend? If not, I can send you a copy. As you’re working in ministry, you absolutely ought to read it. I wish I’d had it 20 years ago.

  5. Jen says:

    OK…I know nothing to do with the topic here BUT…HAPPY 1st ANNIVERSARY!

    just wanted to say that to the two of you!

  6. T-Bone says:

    jen, thank you very much! we had a great weekend. we had wanted to get away, but couldn’t afford it at the moment, so we were tourists in our own area and saw some thigns that we hadn’t had the chance to. it was a nice relaxing weekend.

    doug, that sounds interesting and I don’t know if I could ever turn down a book!

  7. Doug Wilcox says:

    Salter is a forensic psychologist, and probably the world’s most knowledgeable authority on sex offenders.

    She is not an alarmist, nor does she hide behind psychology’s attempts to excuse or minimize the evil of pedaphiles and other sex offenders.

    You’re going to need an “eyes wide open” education on this subject as you minister: It will affect everything from family/marital counseling to church discipline issues. Mistakes made due to ignorance will, sadly, further harm sexual abuse survivors, as well as allow sexual predators to claim new victims.

    E-mail me your mailing address, and I’ll get a copy off to you.

  8. Beth'sMomToo says:

    T said: “I don’t know if I could ever turn down a book!”

    Ahhhh…he’s his mother’s child… ;)Btw, I have a book for you, too. I accidentally ordered the same book twice…again. Lucky for you! Oh, I also got Carson’s critique of the Emerging Church, so I can be up on that.

  9. wendy says:

    Deb,

    I left a comment for you on your last post, did you see it?

  10. T-Bone says:

    mom, what book is it? you might want to wait to just give it to me when I see you since I have a lot of reading to do between now and then.

  11. Beth'sMomToo says:

    That’s what I was planning. Happy A!! I can’t believe I forgot! Oh…Grammy H. is having one day surgery 6/15, so be praying.

  12. Beth says:

    This blog is like soo totally boring…I like want to gag myself with a spoon for entertainment.

  13. Doug Wilcox says:

    And if you did, no doubt your description of gagging yourself with a spoon would be a fascinating description of the physiology of gagging.

    At least Tim’s not writing posts like, “My Urine.”

    😉

Leave a Reply

