CORE Week 2006: Flatline

Well, sorry for not posting but having visited home followed by jumping into Core week here, things have been a little hectic. But I take these few short moments to let everyone know how things are going here. Here are a couple pics of the deco:


This year we just decorated the stage area. We did it like an emergency room to go with the theme. We also did a hilarious intro video to introduce the staff for the week. We did a mock of the ER intro where everyone is doing things in the hospital and stops and stares into the camera and their name flashes underneath them. We got the music from ER and even got some images that they use in the intro and it came out great. I hope to have those on our youth website soon.

The passage I’m teaching through is Ephesians 2:1-10 and it has gone well so far. The first two nights were on the first three verses laying out the position of the person without Christ and the desperate situation we found ourselves in. I managed to completely offend one kid the first night. He said he came from a Unitarian church but hasn’t been in awhile. He’s now ‘searching’. Well, apparently he didn’t like the idea of me telling him he was dead and Christ was the only way. I actually said the second night, before I learned of this reaction, that if someone is offended by something I’m saying, than that is ok, but it isn’t my idea or opinion on the matter. If someone is offended, that’s natural because the gospel is offensive to those who don’t understand it. It was something that was somewhat refreshing, because I know he understood what I was saying. That doesn’t mean I should try to be offensive, but it does mean that he understands the Gospel and he rejects it. You can pray that he keeps thinking it over.

We’ve probably had around 100 or so kids come out, which is good. Numbers are down a little, but this group is very, very young. Well, I gotta get back to work and prepare for tonight. Oh, and I’d like to thank Jen for stopping by and seeing our church and ministry. Oh wait…. she didn’t…. first the Glines come all the way out to California and don’t see me, now Jen… I can feel the love…

10 comments on “CORE Week 2006: Flatline

  1. J.R. Freiberg says:

    I still love you timmy.
    hope CORE goes well.

  2. Beth'sMomToo says:

    Great decorations! Where did you get the cool props? They’re GREAT!

    I got a peek at the decorations for VBS at Beth’s church. They were starting to set them up while I was up there for her shower. They have a space theme, and were also doing a great job! Made ME want to come!

    With our teens doing Backyard Bible Clubs this year, a great outreach, I find I actually have time this week to be preparing for the next Ladies’ class. (Almost done with Chapter 1!! …told you I’m slow. I’ll be bomping along and then suddenly I’ll realize that I have something modifying the wrong thing [the beauty of Greek is that you can actually get a pretty good idea from the word endings what it is modifying…can’t really do that with English). So then I have to go back and figure out where it goes. It does get pretty exciting around here when I figure it out! Unfortunately I am the only one who gets very excited about it. πŸ˜‰ But when I later get to TEACH it…watch out…everyone starts boogeying in the aisles! Think how tough it would be to study and never get to teach what you have learned…]

  3. t-bonehttp://tboneshiddenblog.blogspot.com says:

    we have some connections. the father of a couple of the kids is a nurse and was able to get the bed. the mother of the same kids, her father is a science teacher and he gave us the skeleton. we were able to scrounge up an IV stand, wheelchair, walker, crutches and some other stuff from another family. The rest is made to look like hospital stuff. we made the signs, the x-ray box, the triage desk, hung our white board to make the patient board.

    we had a great time and the staff did an awesome job decorating. We did it all four just a few hundred dollars.

  4. Beth says:

    “offend” in the sense that we shouldn’t be offending- is in the case of “offending” another brother- which actually means causing them to sin. In this case he chose to come to the event, so he opened himself to the discomfort he was feeling.

    thanks for the post. Awesome set.

    Your first nephew will be visiting you and Leah (Lord willing) in his first months of life- now how is that for commitment? TB’s to do list: be born, meet and greet grandparents, Aunt and Uncle, visit Tim and Leah in CA.

  5. Beth'sMomToo says:

    Beth,
    Have you bought him a planner yet? [like the one you got Leah…her “brain”] Or are you going to wait till 2007? πŸ˜‰

    [good pick-up on scandalidzo!! Of course, this boy probably had more of the English definition in mind. In our postmodern culture it is wrong to proclaim Truth. I think it all started back with Jesus being a stumbling-block…]

  6. T-Bone says:

    don’t bother with the planner. I wouldn’t use it. I’d rather her buy Leah replacement inserts for the inside. Everything I need is on my laptop, which is everywhere with me. I wouldn’t use a planner

  7. Beth says:

    I think she’s asking if I have already bought my boy a planner…. I figure I’ll wait until he asks for it… like when Adam asked for the filing cabinet for his 3rd birthday.

  8. Beth says:

    Oh, and Tim- if I lived closer I could provide you with some blood and organs etc…. that would be so awesome… I could do a little anatomy talk before the closing program every night.

  9. T-Bone says:

    yeah, I’m sure that’d go over great with the kids. nothing like aorta talk to liven up a crowd

  10. Jen says:

    Tim, Tim, Tim…so sorry…BUT who was the one who had the crazy schedule this week???? And I didn’t have my own wheels either! I did spend all Sunday night sitting all alone in Nikki’s apt. But you did say how busy you were and could only fit me in on Monday remember? But, ask Nikki, I did say a few times that I wanted to get down to see you…really!! check out my new post it is for YOU! πŸ™‚ forgive me? really next time I come out I will come to your place I PROMISE!!! (it may take 10 years to have Phil let me do that again but I promise!)

    thanks for making me feel guilty on your post!

    OH, and the props look great! I wish we could have it out here…when will you move to the east coast? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

