As I Leave for Camp…

Just wanted to write a few notes before I left for our high school winter camp. Though I have been looking forward to this and have known what I’m going to be teaching, the closer I get the more terrified I get. The terrified feeling that I have before I speak has nothing to do with my lack of faith that God will use it, but more with my feeling of ineptitude and unworthiness. We have a good group of kids going. We have 32 high schoolers going with a good mix of regulars and new kids.

There are a few kids that have a great need to hear this message. i can’t get into specifics, but it just raises my overwhelming feeling of inadequacy. We’re talking about the power of sin and how to overcome sin in our lives. I know that it is a very timely message and that Satan would very much like to keep a strangle hold on some of these kids. This week I’ve had to deal with a failed bus company, we had to move the camp a couple months ago because we got double booked out, and this morning I found out that the freeway will be closing at 9pm for freeway construction. We have some kids coming up late and now we’re going to have to figure out another way to get them there.

So I would covet your prayers for myself, for safety and that everyone will get there, but most of all, that the message of forgiveness and mercy will be heard and lives will be changed by God’s message!

3 comments on “As I Leave for Camp…

  1. jrf says:

    Thanks for giving me some material for my Prayer class requirements!

    be bold in the Lord and puny in yourself!

    Are you going to be taping your sermons? would like a copy

  2. Beth'sMomToo says:

    I heard from your MOTHER-IN-LAW that SHE received a call letting her know that you all got back from snowcamp safely and that things had gone well. [Glad I’m friends with HER! 😉 You were just relying on the mother-in-law vine, right?]

  3. Beth'sMomToo says:

    How did the Lord work?

Leave a Reply

