Too busy for church?

This article really jumped out to me. I’d love to be able to say something about this to some parents, but I think the fall out wouldn’t be worth it sometimes… I’ll leave it to Mohler to say.

3 comments on “Too busy for church?

  1. BethsMomToo says:

    I learned early from that wisewoman, Kathi C., that you have to start off with the mindset of church having the priority. I can’t say that we didn’t struggle for several years with the Fall Fair Schedule, but I know if we hadn’t decided church had priority it would have been much, much worse. I think what often happens is that people don’t think about it ahead of time and fall into bad habits without realizing they are doing so, which becomes increasingly difficult to break. We didn’t let you guys sign up for sports that included Sundays. Perhaps going to a Christian school helped us by not providing the temptation!

    It’s not just a commitment to “church”, but to one local assembly in particular. Going to one church and attending school at another can create problems if you’re not careful. Before you know it you’re spending more time with the school family than with your local assembly, which is the place where you are supposed to be exercising your spiritual gifts.

    It’s also a commitment to a PARTICULAR assembly, not just “church” in general. There are many believers “floating” from church to church, but not really committed to or participating in the work of any one assembly.

  2. ehudadams says:

    Trust me, going to a Christian school doesn’t help people in this. I see no difference in some of the parents at the Christian school and parents of kids who don’t go to the school.

    and you can say what you want about us going to Fairs all the time, but I remember during that time, as i got older, that I was tired of missing church. I was tired of not being there on Sundays and would have rather been at church than the fair. I don’t think I felt like that on my own, but because of the importance you had put on church involvement.

    I remember that it never came down to doing my homework instead of going to church. that isn’t to say that I didn’t do my homework, but you made sure I got it done ahead of time. that was always the priority.

  3. BethsMomToo says:

    The homework thing was also from the advice of the “wisewoman”. There was an advantage to Kathi having kids 5-7 years older than mine – I was alerted to potential issues ahead of time. I think it was Matt who would not want to go to Club and give the excuse that he had homework. Kath never accepted that as an excuse. She probably had to follow through only once, resulting in a bad grade, which would have let Matt know she was serious and “encourage” him to organize his time accordingly.

    I’m not sure if parents at FBC are still availing themselves of this same kind of godly influence. Moms made it a priority to be at home when you guys were growing up. It was a universally accepted fact at FBC, so the encouragement to do it was very strong. I don’t see that as much now – especially once kids are school age. If you’re not available to others in the church community, then there is no “passing on” of wise advice. I suspect you see the results of that.

    Concerning Christian school – I wasn’t suggesting that there were necessarily parenting differences, but that our Christian school anyway did not organize sporting events on Sundays. It would be upsetting to hear of ANY Christian school having sporting activities scheduled on the Lord’s Day! That’s not happening, is it?! If so, that’s a good place to start!

    I also think that the Pastors make a HUGE difference by promoting specific godly behavior. Loren was not shy to tell us that church was a priority! And he certainly wasn’t shy letting us know that FBC had priority over Calvary Christian School! A lot of behavior that Loren would have addressed from the pulpit has since been avoided in a spirit of “toleration” and “patience”. Loren was always loving… but always honest. He specifically and consistently encouraged righteous living! We knew what was expected of us, and why, but not because he was dictatorial in any way. And he certainly didn’t do it all the time, which made us sit up and notice when he did! And I’m sure he heard flack from a lot of people and a few probably “moved on” to less demanding churches. But most agreed with him and strove to act rightly – thus providing a good example to the rest. Pastors have a huge influence on their flock…so hang in there and do right. A sermon or two on setting priorities in the Christian life could reap great results!

Leave a Reply

