Links Explosion!

This story absolutely blew my mind. It made my brain hurt thinking about all the implications. Seriously.

This is an interesting story on the 1000 most popular books in libraries.

I wouldn’t have such a problem with this if they just didn’t call it ‘church’.

Check out these quotes from Tony Campolo. Yes, apparently he really beleives it.

A new John Owen book may come out. Might want to check this out.

7 comments on “Links Explosion!

  1. BethsMomToo says:

    Who knew John Owen was still writing! 😉

  2. ehudadams says:

    He’s taken the Tupac approach. But honestly, until 50 years ago, no one would’ve read Owen. It was a resurgence in intrest in the Puritans that has brought him back.

  3. BethsMomToo says:

    I saw these conjoined twins on TV. They are utterly amazing! They act like any other giggly, happy teenaged girls, and after a while you find yourself forgetting that they share a body, yet have two separate heads. They showed them in class, with the teacher calling on each girl individually and students addressing them individually. They actually competed with each other to get called on. I guess the teacher had to pay attention to which hand was raised so he would know which girl to call on. The other kids interacted with them in an absolutely normal fashion. I guess it’s like us being around Mr. Dann or Mrs. Clayton so much that we wonder why people are staring, having completely forgotten they each have only one complete arm. [I used to check my clothing and wipe my face, assuming it must be me they were staring at! ;)]

    At home they act like any other teen. They interact with family members just as we all do. It was also interesting seeing them talk to each other as if they were sisters who just happened to have their heads close together. Even though each controls one arm and one leg, their movements are quite smooth. They don’t have a discussion before every move. It’s mind boggling to imagine how they learned to work in unison with each other so that they could walk and accomplish tasks requiring two hands – even driving!

    I’m not sure how the whole marriage thing would work, but there was that case of the conjoined twins [who were in P.T. Barnum’s circus] who had separate spouses. [I always wondered if they hung a curtain for moments they might want to be alone.] Since these girls have only one body, it would be much more problematic.

    I found myself wondering if, since they have two different brains, do they therefore have two souls? They really ARE individuals. Is it the presence of two brains that accomplishes that?

  4. beth says:

    I would vote two souls. They clearly are two individuals sharing one body. Did you look at the ethics of marriage on Challis’ page. It’s good.

  5. BethsMomToo says:

    I liked Challis’ emphasis on discernment. I think it’s a skill you develop by practice and one which requires having a solid knowledge of “the Standard”. Good words.

  6. BethsMomToo says:

    I can’t believe YOU, of all people, recommended a paraphrase of John Owen by the man who put out “The Message”! This is a travesty! I can understand an interest in updating Owen’s language, but this man’s paraphrase is horrid! I wouldn’t call this John Owen!

  7. ehudadams says:

    ummm…. its a parody, mom. it doesn’t actually exist. it’s comedy. no reality.

Leave a Reply

