FREEEEEDOOOOMMMMM!!!!!!

braveheart.jpg

This morning, I drove into school, handed in all the work for my last class, and declared my FREEDOM!!! I hopped in my car, pumped up my ‘end of the semester song’, Sweet Child of Mine, rolled down the windows, and left seminary in the rear view window. Nothing says summer like Slash’s guitar solos, the window down, and the sun shining.

So, for the first time in 21 years, I’m not looking to go back to school in the fall. It’s a very odd feeling for me. I told Leah that I don’t think it will really sink in until the fall, when i’m not preparing to go to school. I don’t know what it’s gonna be like to not have to do homework at nights, to cram for tests for a couple days, or spend hours upon hours researching a paper that is just for a grade.

So what am I going to do to fill all of my time? Well, first, I’ll be able to concentrate fully on my job. As of June 1st, I will be the Associate Pastor of Student Ministries at SGUC. I’m so excited that I won’t have to juggle full time school with full time work. I’ll be able to be around all day during the week, go have lunch with kids at the high schools, and take on some counseling cases.

I’ll also be able to be a real dad, who comes home from work to see his family. I’ll be able to do things like wash the car, put up Micah’s wall rack, and little things around the house. We’ll be able to take day trips on my days off (which I’ve never had since I’ve started).

I’m also planning on being able to do more on my blog. I’ll be doing somewhat regular book reviews, as i’ll now be able to read what I want to. I’ll be doing more commentary on things in evangelical Christianity and world issues that face us.

I’m sure that the time will get filled pretty quickly, and I’m the kind of person that will fill my schedule and be busy no matter what I do. But I’m excited that I get to fill my schedule and not school!

One comment on “FREEEEEDOOOOMMMMM!!!!!!

  1. BethsMomToo says:

    Congratulations, son! Do you feel a little light-headed? 😉

    You may not be going for grades and credits anymore, but now you get to build on what you’ve learned and to teach yourself. Most of what I know at age 56 is a result of what I have learned since leaving college! You have a great base on which to build. Welcome to the College of Lifelong Learning. You’re right…it’s a lot more fun to design your own curriculum!

Leave a Reply

