I’m Smarter Than My Sister

Awhile ago my sister was sure to email me a news article that declared that first born children are smarter than the other children. Needless to say, she’s first, I’m second out of two. Then she took this test, and I did better than her. Now you have the evidence, and you can decide.

I am smarter than 93.11% of the rest of the world. Find out how smart you are.


17 comments on “I’m Smarter Than My Sister

  1. Beth says:

    Well, I can say the calendar and geography are not my strong areas nor math except- I could quickly tell you how much GABA to add to make 5 micromolar solution.

    I think we need to find a better test.

    I can still say “fool!”? right?

  2. Beth says:

    121 – the challenge is on

  3. Doug Wilcox says:

    Rats. I got 1 answer wrong. I am only smarter than 96.74% of the population.

    Note that there’s a typo in the answer page; population is missing a letter!

    Am-I-Dumb.com – Are you dumb?

    A little tidbit for Beth: (Mat 5:22) But I say to you that everyone who is angry with his brother will be liable to judgment; whoever insults his brother will be liable to the council; and whoever says, ‘You fool!’ will be liable to the hell of fire.

    Beth, what’s the 121, an IQ assessment? Calculated from where?

  4. Doug Wilcox says:

    Rats. I got 1 answer wrong. I am only smarter than 96.74% of the population.

    Note that there’s a typo in the answer page; population is missing a letter!

    A little tidbit for Beth: (Mat 5:22) But I say to you that everyone who is angry with his brother will be liable to judgment; whoever insults his brother will be liable to the council; and whoever says, ‘You fool!’ will be liable to the hell of fire.

    Beth, what’s the 121, an IQ assessment? Calculated from where?

  5. Beth says:

    oh ho ho, check out my blog… although I’m kind of afraid it’s a wimpy IQ test and everyone will kick my butt on that too.

    And I’m not angry with Tim— we always love a little competition… see I’m loving my brother.

  6. ehudadams says:

    I would just like to say that I will not lower myself to the over-competitive nature that my sister has exhibited. This was a challenge raised by my sister that I initially answered, but I have now realized that for me to continue to meet her challenges could be to her detriment. I played along with her challenge, but have realized that she will not stop until she proves that she is smarter than me. So I say her, “Beth, you are smarter than me.” I do not wish to cause her any more pain and anxiety than I already have. She may challenge this statement by saying that I’m just scared that I’ll get a lower number on an IQ test. Whatever makes you sleep better at night.

  7. Beth says:

    I would go with the latter statment. You’re chicken (imagine GOB’s chicken dance as I say this). I do wonder though if the IQ test I took is wimpy or a real one. For the record- the first test I didn’t challenge you- you took it, scored higher and then declared it a challenge. It’s OK. I have lots of competitions lined for Nehemiah and Micah for when I come out this week. One of them will be a crawling contest complete with a start whistle, sweat bands for the babies, and a finish line with a tape.

  8. Doug Wilcox says:

    Drat, I only got 121: “Your age adjusted IQ score is 121 and the average score is 100.”

    I was doing great (I had only marked one question to go back to), but didn’t watch the time. I had an easier time with pattern recognition than I did letter unscrambling – most interesting. I can’t wait to see what the report says.

    I have noticed a little bit of competition between the Costine siblings, even more than I see with my own children. (Actually, I wish my own children were a little more competitive, but they’re still relatively young.)

  9. BethsMomToo says:

    Yes, the gloves didn’t come off until they became independent adults. Beth’s five year school advantage was a little more than Tim could overcome… until NOW apparently. 😉

    I DO want them to remember where their brains came from… their father. I’m just an over-achiever… and interested in “lots of stuff”, as Joel might put it. That can be a huge advantage if you get to live as long as I have!

  10. Beth says:

    Well, that’s good to know you got a 121 too Doug, I was worried it was and “IQ for Dummies” test or something… or maybe it always tells you your score is 121…oh well, lots more important things to think about in life… .like what the next contest will be 🙂

  11. Doug Wilcox says:

    I am thinking of taking the test again on a second computer, to see how I’d do without a time crunch.

    And, Beth, the reference in Matthew was a joking reference to the use of “fool” as an insult. Just a humorous throwback to my slightly-too-literal (as opposed to grammatical-historical) days.

  12. Doug Wilcox says:

    How about a Geek test?

    :: evil laughter ::

  13. Mark says:

    I took the “sports” test just for fun, and only got 7 out of 25 correct, yet it says I am smarter than 100% of the people! Crazy!

  14. Doug Wilcox says:

    What? No one is going to take the Geek test challenge?

    And, to misquote Nick Szalinski, in Honey, I Shrunk the Kids, “Sports are for mortals.” (His line is actually, “Baseball is for mortals,” but I prefer to expand it.)

  15. Doug Wilcox says:

    Wait, I triple-dog dare you to take the Geek test.

  16. BethsMomToo says:

    Both Doug and Beth beat me on the IQ test [I only got 118], but I smoked them on the General Knowledge test. It’s also interesting that what slowed Doug down [the scrambled words] was my strength – I got them all right. Beth and Doug both left me in the dust on the geometry questions, though I did OK (not great, mind you) on the number pattern recognitions.

    I’ll take the “Geek test” and fail miserably. Now if you add an “r” to “Geek”, it might be a different story! 😉

  17. BethsMomToo says:

    I KNOW I’m not as geeky as Doug, but I did score 18.14596% (very funny!), which barely makes me a Geek. I scored high with books, libraries, learning, studying on my own and SciFi… but I just don’t have the computer or gaming skills. I’m just too busy with books, libraries, learning, studying on my own… 😉

Leave a Reply

