New FaceDown CD

I’m proud to announce that our youth band has released its 4th album, “Grace Abounds” this last week. For those of you who are not familiar with FaceDown, they have been our band and are led by Paul Hoover. Paul is the Worship Director at our church and my former roommate in college. The band is manned by other people on our staff, and most of the songs are written by Paul.

There are three songs on the CD that you may be familiar with, including “How Great is Our God” written by Chris Tomlin and “Blessed Be Your Name” written by Matt Redman. The later song is partially taken from the book of Job, where Job rejoices in the Lord, whether he gives or takes away. The third song is one from Sovereign Grace Ministries called “Grace Unmeasured”. This is probably my favorite one. This rejoices in the grace of God that brings us to salvation, leads us through life, and delivers us to Heaven, where we’ll see His face and never cease to thank him for his grace. Amazing song!
The songs written by Paul are the following: “Sacrifice”, about living as a sacrifice to God; “Enraptured”, which speaks about living in way that is enraptured with who God is (If every breath I take is a privilege, I’ve wasted many sighs throughout my life, I need to have a hope to convince me, Enrapture me with all your beauty) good song; Other songs include “No Other Name”, “Love One Another”, and “Grace Abounds”. My other favorite is “Shall I Attempt to Speak”. Here are the lyrics:

“You make the clouds a garment for the sea,
And by your voice, command the dawn its place.
You store the snow and hail that is to be
Inside your treasuries’ infinite space.

What can I reply?
My hand I lay
Upon my lips, shall I attempt to speak?

You have begotten drops of dew and rain
The constellations in their season guide
You gave the horse his might, his neck a mane
You bid the hawk to soar both far and wide

who has given, Lord, you should repay?
For you alone are mighty, i am weak.”

This cd has a great mix of upbeat music with softer songs mixed in. Paul is a great songwriter and we have greatly benefited from the gift that God has given to him. I would greatly recommend the cd to you. We’re selling them for $10, and I’ll be sending a package back to NH for people to buy them there. Let me know if you’d like a copy!

8 comments on “New FaceDown CD

  1. wendy says:

    I’d like a copy!

  2. Bob says:

    I’d like a copy as well.

  3. ehudadams says:

    hmmm… should I send it down to Guat or to FBC?

  4. Beth says:

    After listening to the CD for a couple of weeks I have to say that they are on par with the big touring Christian bands.The songs are great- the harmonies are a great addition. Tash’s voice has matured and opened up- it’s very powerful and beautiful.

    “Shall I attempt to speak” is awesome, after a few listens it grabbed my attention and just made me cry in admiration for God. Today I was reading Job and realized it is taken from Job 38-40 when God bascially asks Job who does he think he is. Job’s final answer is- “Behold I am vile, What should I answer you? I lay my hand over my mouth. Once I have spoken, but I will not answer.”

    My worst part of the CD is that there are only 10 songs.

    I think I need to put an order for 5 CD’s for christmas presents this year!

  5. Amy Whitten says:

    So.. i had a question.. maybe you’re not the right person to ask, but i’m gonna ask any way.
    I know the song “Shall I attempt to speak” from chapel at TMC and i found your blog because i was looking up the lyrics for it. My question is, do you know if it would be ok for me to teach that song to my church? because it’s not written by like Matt Redman or anything so it probably doesn’t fall under the CCLI licensing… so i was just wondering if you knew the guy who wrote it and if it would be ok for us to learn. thanks!

    ~Amy Whitten

  6. ehudadams says:

    Amy,
    Well, it was actually written by Paul Hoover. Paul was the worship leader here at our church and the leader of our youth band, but now he has moved on to help out a church plant in Santa Clarita. As far as I know, I believe it is copyrighted, but I know he wouldn’t mind you using it. if you look to the right, you’ll see Paul’s blog under ‘Friends’. You can go there and leave him a message yourself and I’m sure he’ll be more than helpful.

    If you would like me to mail you a copy of the cd that has the original recording, please let me know and I’d gladly mail it to you! That song is a personal favorite of mine, and Paul is a very gifted song writer and is missed here. I’m glad to hear that the gift God has given him is blessing others!

    Tim Costine

  7. Amy Whitten says:

    I would love a copy of that song. every time we do it in chapel i really want to teach it to my church because i love it but i dont have any chords or anything for it. a recording would be amazing. I’ll leave him a comment too though.
    thanks!

  8. ehudadams says:

    email me your address and I’ll send you one. ehudadams at hotmail . com

Leave a Reply

