Doug Pagitt on Way of the Master Radio

Here’s an audio link to Doug Pagitt on Way of the Master radio on Monday, during the first hour.  It is absolutely startling!  I know the Emerging Church has a different way of dealing with doctrine, to say the least, but this is absolutely unbelievable.  If you aren’t convinced that the Emergent church approach to Scripture and eternity isn’t a problem, you MUST listen to the first half of this clip.  He didn’t stick around long enough to defend his view against actual verses.

So do I disagree on principle or because Pagitt isn’t my personal preference?

12 comments on “Doug Pagitt on Way of the Master Radio

  1. Aunt Beth says:

    The link isn’t working. They sound like chipmunks or it won’t load.

  2. Mark says:

    Are you listening to WOTMR? I thought I was the only one.

    I haven’t listened to this episode yet because I’m not that far in my podcasts. Cant’ wait to hear it. Todd has a good understanding on the Emergent movement.

  3. Doug Wilcox says:

    This was fascinating, and a bit frightening. I am puzzled how an apparent emphasis on context leads one to treat the Bible as a collection of completely disparate narratives. (Ironically, a different process of noncontextualism allows one to support neofundamentalism’s failure to use grammatical-historical interpretation.)

    Of note is the redefinition of terminology. For example, judgment becomes interaction with God. This is hardly compatible with the obvious meaning of the word in Scripture.

    Are all the Mergies like this? Yikes!

  4. jrf says:

    I am reminded of the game show host at the end of Billy Madison….”Mr. Madison, what you just said is one of the most insanely, idiotic things I have ever heard. At no point in your rambling, incoherent response were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this room is now dumber for having listened to it. I award you no points, and may God have mercy on your soul.”

  5. Aunt Beth says:

    The host was good at nailing the guy down and being patient and sticking with him. How twisted! It’s great to have a verbal debate because emerging people are so good at writing their attractive books.

  6. Mark says:

    I learned that I’m a Platonist because I believe in Heaven and Hell. Who knew???

  7. Mark says:

    The whole interview is at: http://reformedvoices.blogspot.com/2007/10/todd-friel-interviews-doug-pagitt-of_24.html

    That’s where the Platonist part comes from.

    You know, it drives me up a wall when these Emergent guys use Hebrew words for no reason. It’s so smarmy “I’m so much smarter than you.” And apparently it doesn’t do much for their hermeneutics.

  8. ehudadams says:

    Mark- yes, I listen to the podcast. It’s good to hear what’s happening and I enjoy their perspective on things. I probably listen to three shows a week on podcast.

    Doug- I would hesitate to say that all emergents are like this, since they generally avoid being labeled a certain way, but I would say that it is pretty typical. They don’t like taking traditional stands, but say that are actual traditional in that practice. They basically are seeking to reclaim a Medeival style of Christianity, forfeiting what has happened since the reformation.

  9. BethsMomToo says:

    Recently I happened to reread the blog I wrote about this subject last September. In it I had compared the opposing views of the Puritans and the Emerging Church. Tim alluded to the Emerging Church’s return to the style of medieval Christianity, which the Puritans had “purified” themselves from. We would do well to be reminded by the words of the Puritan, Richard Greenham, “The more ceremonies, the less truth.”

  10. Doug Wilcox says:

    [joke]

    I hate it when Christians use theological terms for no reason. Sheesh. What in the world is hermeneutics?

    [/joke]

  11. Jim says:

    Amazing. Doug Pagitt and Todd were clearly not on the same page. While Todd to his credit attempted to keep the discussion biblical, Doug repeatedly would dodge simple questions of Christian doctrine, preferring to engage in bizaar philosophical discussions typical of post-moderns. Truly, the emergent church movement ought to be a wake up call to evangelicals. The Gospel is under attach. Anyone who would deny that after listening to Pagitt is not listening.

  12. Rob Willmann says:

    I was the one who originally transcribed the interview between Todd Friel and Doug Pagitt. In light of the new “theology” that’s coming from the emergent camp, especially since the “Theology After Google” debacle, I think it important that this article receive a “bump”

    The original entire transcript as well as the mp3 (which is no longer available at WOTM) can be heard here:

    http://www.vibist.com/2010/03/way-of-the-master-transcript-todd-friel-and-doug-pagitt/

Leave a Reply

