It’s a Fat World After All

As this fall has come and is quickly passing, so too came my birthday, yet again. This year I turned 27 and many things have changed over the past six years. I have graduated from college and seminary. I got married. I greeted my first child into the world. I became a Pastor of a ministry I have been involved in for about 8 years now. And finally, I have gained about 25 pounds.

Some would call this unwelcomed addition “contentment” after marriage. But I wouldn’t place any of the blame on my wife. Instead, it was just poor eating, drinking much too much soda, and rapidly decreasing opportunities for exercise. Recently I discovered that I was hurting my life and ministry by continuing this pattern. I knew that if I stopped having junk come in and concentrated on eating well and exercising that I would have more energy. I would sleep better at night. I would be giving myself a better shot at being around for Micah when he gets older. I would be doing a better job at putting myself in a good situation to live for Christ.

This fall, I have begun biking to work a few times a week, and I have seen a huge change in this alone. When I rode the bike home from the bike shop, I was dying. Now I can make the same ride without barely breathing harder. The next step was concentrating on eating better. Leah has been a great help in this area. She is trying to make things that are healthier and trying to get me to eat my daily dose of vitamins and nutrients.

But all of this would be for naught if I continued to drink soda at the same alarming rate I had. I knew I was addicted to it, and that troubled me. I would try to cut back, but I would find myself still drinking 3-4 cans of soda a day. So I decided that the few days I spent on Catalina Island would be detox days. That became more difficult when I realized they had a soda machine and snack bar, but thankfully I was able to survive. I kept busy and with the exercise I got, it gave me the energy that I lacked before.

So now it has been two weeks and I still haven’t had a Mt. Dew, which is pretty big for me. I have had a Diet Coke a couple times, but that’s it. I decided that I didn’t want to make it about never drinking soda, but about forming better habits to replace the addiction with. At first some other flavor drinks were helpful, but it has been necessary to get addicted to water instead.

So to date, I have lost about 6 pounds, bringing me under 190. I really didn’t want to reach 200, and will keep going in my best attempt to get rid of the ponch that has taken residence over my belt.

To go along with this, there is this interesting story about the “It’s a Small World” ride at Disneyland having to close for a period of time in order to fix the ride. When it was built in 1964, Americans weighed 25 lbs less, on average. Apparently, more obese riders have caused the boats to get stuck on the bottom of the flume, so now they have to shut it down for 10 months so they can make the canal deeper and bring in better, more buoyant boats.

This entry was posted in life.

3 comments on “It’s a Fat World After All

  1. BethsMomToo says:

    Way to go, guy! All that soda is incredibly bad for your teeth, too! Jack & Nardos have been telling you that for years. When they go on medical Missions trips to Central and South America, they see the effects of constant soda consumption on people’s teeth. Not pretty. Of course, they have often do not have any alternative – no safe drinking water is available.

    There’s also the consideration of setting an example for your children. If you don’t want them drinking soda, you can’t be drinking it. See…if you had been a coffee drinker like the rest of the family, none of this would have happened! 😉 Bring on the milk…

  2. Doug Wilcox says:

    Power, brother!

    Since June, I’ve joined Nichelle in weight lifting (6 days a week), and am trying to get in more cardio than ever. (Of course, our diets have changed, too, but that’s easy, as we work in a “treat day” every now and then.)

    BTW, if you must drink soda, give Cherry Coke Zero a try. It’s delightful.

    At first it was all incredibly difficult, especially lifting weights for the first few weeks. Because everything but my leg muscles were in such poor shape. I’d get the form wrong despite not lifting that much weight. But, after a few weeks, it got better. Now I’ve finally pushed past Nichelle in a few of our exercises’ weights, and actually feel bad when something happens and we miss a day.

    Nichelle does Tae-Bo every day. With my schedule I get it in once or twice a week. However, I do have a circuit of about .83 miles that I try to run/walk/crawl every day. Today I did not want to get out and run, but with that distance, it’s over fast. Pretty much my limitation now is oxygen; I know how well I’m doing by how much I’m panting. Right now I am at my limit at 0.5 miles at my best (then I typically walk for a short distance and then run the rest), but that’s easily 3 or 4 times what I could run without stopping just a month ago.

    BTW, Nichelle’s transformation (see http://blog.wilcoxfamily.net/?p=482 ) continues to astound me.

    Overall, a little exercise has made a world of difference. My weight actually hasn’t dropped more than about 12 pounds, but my appearance has changed drastically. And, of course, I feel a zillion times better.

  3. Beth says:

    Way to go Doug (and Tim). I started running in college by doing laps around the drill field at VT after gaining the freshman 20. Most training, most of the time with cardio is training your lungs… once you get to a certain point do you feel like your legs need work. The good thing is that your body has increadible memory. It’s like once you break your lungs in, you can skip a few months and you don’t have to start from square one again… more like starting with 1 mile at a time than the three you were doing.
    Although I’m back to my pre-pregnancy weight, my body still isn’t where it was- I still need to gain back the muscle I had. This is where it would be nice to go to a gym a few days a week and lift weights- but maybe I can get more creative at home.

    Oh ya- and a quarter of Americans are overweight that’s up from 6% in the 80’s.

Leave a Reply

