Confessions of a Superhero

If you’ve read this blog, you’ve noticed a few posts on my trips to Hollywood. And if you have been to Hollywood, then you know about the people wearing dirty, usually horribly done costumes, hoping someone wants to take a picture. One time I was actually saying to Leah that I would love to spend a week as a one of them to learn what its like to be them. I’ve had so much curiosity. Part of it is the fascination of watching a train wreck.

Some of these people are just horrible at what they do. You have a older man dressed up as Superman with a fanny pack. There was also a Picachu that looked like he hadn’t washed his costume in a few years. Within the last year, Chewbacca got arrested for assaulting someone. I found this one particularly amusing since I previously witnessed another exchange between Chewbacca on a lunch break and an older Asian tourist when I was on my way to the restroom. When I was walking the other way, a security guard had gotten involved. This whole culture is just fascinating.

The reason I bring this up, is that I found out that there has been a documentary done on these people. It focuses on four people, a different Superman than the one I was speaking of, Wonder Woman, the Hulk, and a porous Batman. It follows what they do, how they do it, and most importantly, why in the world they do it. It was released in the theaters in November, but is supposed to come out on video this month. It seems pretty under the radar, so don’t expect to find it in a video store.

Just as a disclaimer, I haven’t seen this movie, and it is rated R for language. I’m not condoning or recommending it, but just pointing it out because it has directly met an odd curiosity of mine. Now all that they need to do is release a documentary following one of those guys that drives around picking up ‘lost’ shopping carts.

Here’s the preview:

Here are some excerpts:

(Just a warning, don’t bother watching any other ones with this Superman in it, as there are a couple that are pretty inappropriate.)

2 comments on “Confessions of a Superhero

  1. Charlie says:

    Hi,
    I’m the producer on Confessions of a Superhero. The film will be released Nationally on Jan. 22nd in video stores (Hollywood Video). You can buy it at Virgin, Barnes and Noble, Kroger grocery. It will be available on Netflix as well.

    As for the ‘R’ rating – there are 4 “F” words in the film and they are all in a scene from a different film that we licensed to show some of Batman’s “acting experience”

    The DVD extras are Awesome!! Rent the movie, Thanks!

  2. ehudadams says:

    Thanks Charlie! I’ve always been curious as to their profession and if they are actually sane or not. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

