Randomness…

This is just a compilation of a few things…

Hilarious, Painful Mistake

Check out this video.  hahahaha….

Slamball

Then I heard SlamBall is coming back.  A few years ago I was at a college retreat and became engrossed in this.  I’m happy to hear it is back for all to enjoy:

Red Sox

As most of you know, the Sox are back in Spring Training.  Yesterday, they went to the White House to visit the President as the World Series Champions.  Bush managed to make a joke about Manny not being there because his grandmother must have died again.  The first time they went to the White House after winning in 2004, Manny missed it supposedly because his grandmother was sick.  No one believed him then, and Bush managed to make light of it again.

Then I saw this picture, which is priceless:

papi_0228.jpg

It totally looks photoshopped, but he rode in the side car from the White House to Walter Reed to visit some troops.  Francona apparently rode in it from the Airport to the White House, and challenged Papi to do it, himself.  Then Kyle Snyder rode in it from Walter Reed to the airport, which apparently was longer than the other two.  He said it was so cold, but he wouldn’t get out and go to the bus because he wouldn’t stop hearing it from his friends.  I like this team, and that picture is hilarious.

Celtics

Speaking of Boston sports, on Monday I went to the Celtics game against the Clippers at the Staples Center here in LA.  It was funny how many Boston fans there were.  Everyone around us were Boston fans, and the guys next to us were talking in Boston accents and spent the 4th quarter talking about Spring Training, the Sox, and the Yankees.  The place was full of green jerseys, shirts, and Red Sox hats.  It was just great.  The Celts blew  ’em out by 28, and the 4th quarter was all the young guys playing against each other.  When we walked out into the concourse after the game, it was like we were in the Garden.  I would say by the end of the game that the Celtics fans outnumbered others by 4-1.  EVERYONE was a Celtics fan.

Micah

Micah has been sick this week, but is now apparently getting better.  He was looking pretty bad at some points, with a high fever, but now he is getting better.  He lost a couple pounds, but now appears to be on the rebound.  Leah’s looking forward to getting out of the house, as she’s been trapped there quite a bit, lately.

Pet Peeve

Lately, I’ve been hearing people use the word ‘literally’ a lot, and hardly any of it is really literal.  For example, I’m watching a sporting event and someone says, “He’s literally giving 110% out there.”  That phrase ‘110%’ already is annoying because its impossible, but then you throw literal in there and its literally impossible!  Or someone may say, “It literally killed him.” Well, no.  It didn’t.  It may have brought him great pain, but it didn’t literally kill him.  I’m now going to be the ‘literal’ police, but not literally.  There will be no badge or actual penalties.

Funny Videos   

Here are a couple funny videos that the kids showed me this weekend:

9 comments on “Randomness…

  1. Doug Wilcox says:

    I don’t grok the sidecar picture. What makes it “priceless”?

    Humans often do not think about the meaning of what they say. Remember this the next time you hear someone say, “I could care less.” (I usually respond with, “How much less could you care?”)

  2. ehudadams says:

    I don’t know what ‘grok’ means, but I find the side car picture funny because its David Ortiz. He’s 6’4″, 230 lbs. He’s a beast of a man, smushed into a tiny little side car.

  3. BethsMomToo says:

    Slam Ball is cool! I never heard of it before. What fun it is to watch…except I don’t like it when they go fall from the trampoline onto the floor…or when they body check each other without having body padding on. I bet their Moms don’t like it either.

    The two kids videos are really funny! Charley has a head as big as his brother. I admire the older brother though. You can tell he loves his baby brother. He let him know it hurt, but he didn’t hurt him back. May we hope the young man learned NOT to place fingers in his brother’s mouth again?

    My language pet peeve is “snuck”. The Past Tense of “sneak” is “sneaked”. But now it is in such common use [even on the nightly news!!] that it has been added to the dictionary. All I can say is “Yuck on snuck!”

  4. Dino says:

    Hey, I’m pretty literal myself. My classmates feared me everytime I raised my hand. Welcome to the club!

  5. Dino says:

    People have learned not to argue with me when it comes to the facts and being literal. Their only options are: agree, play along, COMPLETELY and UTTERLY prove that I’m wrong, or just cut off the debate early. They always lose. It’s always sad when they end it early because once we had a debate on whether or not we should push for a stronger gun control law. We said no because a criminal is not going to worry about whether something is legal or not, and most civilians would use them for self-defense. We gave a story about a teacher who saved a school from a massacre because he was able fight off the crook with his gun. The con-side’s argument? “Well…teachers aren’t allowed to have guns.” DID THEY EVEN LISTEN TO THE MORAL!? Plus, they can’t use the argument that teachers aren’t allowed have guns because that’s the very conclusion they were trying to prove! that’s essentially saying, “Techers shouldn’t have guns because teachers aren’t allowed to have guns.” That’s ridiculous! they reason we lost the debate was because we couldn’t counter because they decided to end the debate early to save time(or so they said…) so we simply got made in looking like weapon-lovers who can’t wait for the next war. (It’s nice to finally be able to get this story off my chest after years of anger at it. Well, maybe not years.)

    I never liked “snuck” either, even it sounds like it could work. (It’s bad grammar, by the way, to have a colon after a verb before a list. My mistake.) I hear “muggle” got in the dictionary too. It was under the definition of “one who is inept at any particular activity.” shows how big Harry Potter has become. If any word should be in the dictionary, it should be “frindle.” (Read the book Frindle and you’ll see why.)

  6. Doug says:

    I had to correct my English teacher in 9th grade about dived being the correct past tense of dive.

    Grok is from Stranger in a Strange Land. The expression is common enough among modern geeks.

  7. BethsMomToo says:

    This is scary…I KNEW what “Grok” meant and was surprised Tim didn’t know the word. The implications of this make my stomach swirly… Am I too old to qualify as a “modern” geek? Are there such classes as “Ancient Geeks”? “Antique Geeks”? At least I’m not a “Prehistorical Geek”.

  8. Doug says:

    I’ve seen this quite a bit. The Alpha Geek in our company retired about 2 years ago, and, despite the fact that I blew him away on the Geek Test, much of which contained more modern cultural references, he was unquestionably far ahead of me in Geekdom.

    Much of what passes for Geekiness today is mere affectation that might be expected in an increasingly Geek culture, much like one might wear a baseball cap for a particular team, even if one does not play baseball.

    Software engineers tend to know what grok means, if for no other reason than the fact that other programmers pass on the knowledge.

    But, really, Tim should have known this.

  9. ehudadams says:

    i feel good that I didn’t know what it was. But at least I know that I could post something in binary and people would understand it.

Leave a Reply

