Man Preaches Nursery Rhyme… AMEN!

I ran across this video, thanks to Way of the Master Radio. I cannot begin to believe that this guy is for real.  He is from First Parish in Concord, MA, and seems to be more concerned with English Literature than the Bible.  He’s more English teacher than Bible preacher.

This guy actually exposits ‘Row, Row, Row You’re Boat’! Hillariously sad, really. I feel particularly bad for the people in that congregation. He quotes everything under the moon, except the Bible. And did you notice how he skips the end? Life is but a dream? didn’t exposit that part, he just sort of tacked it on at the end.

I hope this makes you appreciate your pastor more, wherever you are!

This entry was posted in video.

9 comments on “Man Preaches Nursery Rhyme… AMEN!

  1. jrf says:

    wow.
    my ears are thoroughly tickled and my intelligence insulted.

  2. ehudadams says:

    I KNOW!!!! You’re waiting for the camera to pan on the audience and to see all kinds of contorted faces in disgust to what they are hearing. But they’re smiling like he’s saying something monumental.

  3. Dino says:

    If preachers were dishes, this guy would be a pufferfish: taste like what you love, but before you know it , it starts wiggling around inside and destroys from the inside.

  4. BethsMomToo says:

    He sure knows his Transcendentalists…AND their message! Unfortunately, it isn’t any more relevant to real issues of life and death now than it was then. But there is such an earnestness in being so assured you’ve found the right path, one which imagines God as inert & powerless. How surprised they will be to discover that He is not.

    I shake in my boots for this guy when I am reminded of the biblical warnings about ultimate accountability for what you teach & preach.

  5. BethsMomToo says:

    Hey,
    I just realized. Isn’t that the guy who’s always lecturing on PBS? I’ve come upon him periodically when I’m checking out to see what’s on. He’s terrible! Yet look at the crowds he attracts.

  6. ehudadams says:

    my new catch phrase is ‘don’t row my boat’. i think it’ll catch on!

  7. ehudadams says:

    and, yes, that is the guy from PBS.

  8. Beth says:

    That makes me sick. The audience is mainly female- females who like emotional jibber jabber. kind of reminds me of Rob Bell, but with a more logical train of thought. We’re suppose to go with the current of life? What!?! The Bible says the exact opposite. I would love this guy to meet John the Baptist or Paul…..or Jesus for the matter- when he’s driving the money changers out of the temple with a whip. Paul would totally smack him up side the head.

  9. Matt says:

    It’s a Unitarian Universalists “church” – they never claimed to have anything to do with the Bible, so it’s not surprising. They don’t preach the Bible in a Muslim or Buddhist worship assembly, either.

Leave a Reply

