Three Things: Three Course Meal

trb3.jpg

Here’s some food for thought for the weekend.  What would be your best three course meal?  This topic of conversation first came up when I was in Uganda and we were somewhat sick of eating food with largely no taste or flavor.  So here’s my meal:

1. Appetizer- I would open up my meal with a Tri-tip Chopped Salad from Stonefire.  Its a restaurant in Santa Clarita, down the street from the college.  Every time I go, I get this salad.  Delicious!  You put their BBQ sauce on it.  And as a bonus, it would come with their bread sticks on the side.

2. Main Course- This is a tough one, but I think I have to say the Pasta Milano from Macaroni Grille.  It is so good, and I haven’t had it in awhile.  Thankfully, if I ever end up moving back to NH, they have one in northern Mass.  I remember when I first moved out here, I saw a Macaroni Grille and thought, wow, what a stupid name for a restaurant.  Do you grill macaroni?  The question remains.

3. I’m not a huge desert guy.  I generally don’t ever have room for it, because I love the main course so much.  Of course I love anything peanut butter, but I can’t really think of a desert that I would love.  So I’m going to throw in another main course.  I would have Baby Back Ribs.  From where, I’m not totally sure.  I really like some of Chilli’s, and had some AMAZING ribs in Kentucky a couple years ago.  I’ll be back in Kentucky in a few weeks, and I’m salivating just thinking about their meat.  mmmmmmmmm…………

So what’s yours?

5 comments on “Three Things: Three Course Meal

  1. BethsMomToo says:

    Oh fun…

    First Course: [assuming I’d actually have room enough for 3 courses!!]
    I’d choose clam chowder from Legal Seafood, or maybe that little place I remember on the wharf in Boston. It’s got to be thick and creamy and have more clams than potatoes! Accompanying hot bread is a must, of course.

    Second Course:
    Medallions of Veal [Oscar… Piccata… I’m flexible!!] One of the restaurants that used to be in that historic house [near Crabb’s] in Chester served wonderful Veal dishes. Portsmouth is another good place to find a good Veal dish.

    [Runner Up would be Shrimp Scampi. [Best eaten when you intend to be alone for the next 48 hours!]

    Third Course:
    Hands down…. it would be Creme Brulee. It has to be the really creamy kind. The best Creme Brulee I ever ate was in a small restaurant in the Old City in San Diego.

  2. Beth says:

    Be careful the dessert isn’t “too rich” mom 🙂

  3. BethsMomToo says:

    That only applies to chocolate!

  4. Beth says:

    Since I’m dreaming of warm weather- my favorites at the moment are connected to summer.

    appetizers- frozen margarita with salt served with chips and freshly made salsa with lots of cilantro and maybe some avacado slices served on crackers

    main dish- enchiladas with sour cream sauce from La Casa in Morgantown WV eaten outside on the porch overlooking the Mon river. (A very close second would be the flank steak salad with blue cheese served with the summer ale at the Morgantown Brew Pub- on the back porch).

    dessert- chocolate moose tracks ice cream cone with chocolate jimmies from an ice cream shop that is only open in the summer located on some road in the middle of nowhere.

  5. Dino says:

    Wow ,three course meal! Nobody’s ever let have more than just one!

    appetizer-plenty of little pieces of bread with butter, each about an inch and a half long.

    main course-a nice big Cuban sandwich

    dessert-cheesecake

Leave a Reply

