Long time no talk!

I know its been quite awhile since I’ve posted. And I know that that sentence is seen much too often on blogs these days. This summer has been quite a busy summer for me, and next week we head up to Hume Lake, so there will be another gap next week. But, anyhoo, I thought I would check in to let people know how things are going here in SoCal.

Our CORE Week, ‘The Weight of Glory’, went extremely well. Though our attendance was down a little bit, we loved the theme and there were quite a few really good conversations and convictions born out of the week. Of particular interest was an evening on the topic of Hell and Christ’s roll to help us avoid that, and then the evening presenting the majesty and pleasure of Heaven. It was a great evening that one Jr Higher best surmised by saying with wide eyes, “It makes me really excited about going to Heaven.”

A week and a half later, our Jr High headed up to Big Bear. It was a weekend in which we reflected on II Timothy 4:2 and seeking to please the one who enlisted you. Unfortunately, in my haste, I forgot almost all of my speaking notes at home. I think this ended up being a blessing, because it allowed me to change what I was going to talk about. I was able to change it according to how the weekend was going. One evening session I decided to speak a little on Heaven and then have a Q&A time afterwards. The Q&A time was incredible and we all talked for an hour. It was really encouraging for everyone, and a breath of fresh air.

As most of you know, Leah and Micah had gone back to NH during this time, so I was going bachelor for almost two weeks. It was a frightening time in my life that led me to take up jogging in the evening again. That’s right. I went jogging to avoid boredom. After some traveling issues, they finally got home and life ws returned to normal.

This past Sunday, I had the privilege of speaking in church. I decided to speak on the subject of our CORE Week, and II Corinthians 4:16-18. it went really well and I’ve heard a lot of encouraging responses from people who hadn’t heard it yet. If you are interested in listening to it, click here. (UPDATE: It’s up!)

3 comments on “Long time no talk!

  1. jrf says:

    “it went really well and I’ve heard a lot of encouraging responses from people who hadn’t heard it yet.”

    ha,
    funny …and scary

  2. jrf says:

    oh, I get it now. I thought you meant people were congratulating you on your sermon even though they hadnt listened to it but I think you were saying that they hadnt heard it already at CORE week…right?

  3. ehudadams says:

    yes, that is correct. Sorry for the unclear language involved.

Leave a Reply

