“So, do you REALLY trust Me?”

If someone walked up to me and asked if I trusted God with the details of my life, I would say absolutely.  Of course I believe that God takes care of the details of my life.  I teach about it all the time.  In fact, right now we’re going through a series on relationships and my talk generally circles around the concept of trusting God with your love life.  Do you trust God enough to hand your love life over to him?

There have been numerous times through my short life where I have been confronted with the test to trust God in the midst of the unknown and uncertain, and I can firmly say that through all of those times, God has proved Himself faithful over and over again.  Lately, Leah and I have been praying for a place to move into.  We want to have more kids in the future, but right now we’re out growing the one bedroom apartment with Micah.  We knew we had to have a lot of things work together in order for us to move, and it looks like those things are going to happen. Our prayer was that God would blow us away with something and make it obvious.

Then God brought about an amazing situation that may work.  I can’t share a lot of the details, but it has definitely blown us away, but there are some issues that need to be settled before we could say ‘yes’ to that situation.  And it always seems that you have a firm grasp on the situation and find it easy to trust God with the details, whether big or small.  And then God drops something big in your lap that you weren’t necessarily ‘planning on’.

That moment came to us last Tuesday night.  In the midst of watching the results for the election and seeing that there were going to be big changes for our country coming soon, we found out that big changes were also coming soon for our own family.  It was growing.  We found out that God had blessed us with the gift of another child.  That’s right, Leah’s pregnant again!  What a wonderful blessing, albeit unexpected at this point in the game, but a great blessing.

So, now I hear God saying “So, do you REALLY trust Me?”  All I am forced to say is “yes, but help my unbelief!”  I find myself with a similar mindset of the man who came to Christ with a child that was mute and had a spirit in him (Mark 9).  The man said, “if you can do anything, have compassion on us and help us.”  Jesus replied saying “If you can!  All things are possibe for one who believes.”  Immediately the father of the child cried out and said, “I believe; help my unbelief!”

So, yes, I believe that God is really in control of the details of my life.  I just need help in my unbelief.  I know that God will bring us through the situation in our life and that He will work everything out for His glory!

This entry was posted in life.

3 comments on ““So, do you REALLY trust Me?”

  1. Dino says:

    I suspected it as soon as I came in for the Thanksgiving dinner! I knew it!

  2. Mark says:

    Woo hoo! That’s FANTASTIC! The “expecting” section on our church prayer list has been getting a bit thin, so we needed some more added. 🙂

    We’ll be praying for you and your new son/daughter.

    with love in Christ,

    Mark (for the Sohmer’s)

  3. Beth says:

    Oh, I guess it’s not just family now! I am free to share the news!!!

Leave a Reply

