God’s Plans > My Plans

“Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.”  Proverbs 19:21

I’ve been wondering how I was going to say this for some time now.  I’ve had a month to think about it and I still haven’t come to any great conclusion.  Over the last month, God has convinced me more than ever that His ways are not always going to be my plans.  The purpose of the Lord is that we no longer serve at San Gabriel Union Church and we move our family back to NH.  The elders have decided that I am no longer a good fit for the church and that it is best if we part ways.

I would be lying if I said that I agreed with this conclusion or that I haven’t struggled with this decision.  It has been very difficult to hear, as my life’s passion for the last seven to eight years has been the youth of San Gabriel Union Church.  I have had amazing opportunities to grow, be stretched, and cut my teeth in ministry, from just wanting to help out and joining Jr High staff to being able to serve as pastor for two years.  I know that I will always be indebted to SGUC for their faithfulness and patience with me and for paying for me to go to Seminary.  I would not be where I am today, were it not for the generosity of the church.

So where do we go from here?  My last day at work will be January 31st, and I will be able to hand off the ministry to a very capable and loving youth staff.  I have no doubts that they will faithfully serve with self sacrifice until someone is able to come in and take my place.  For my family, Leah and Micah will be flying out on February 10th and I will be following them a few days later, driving across the country with our belongings.  God has already proven Himself faithful to us in the provision of a place to live for free for the ime being.  As far as employment goes, I’m not sure of what I will be doing.  But I know that God will meet our needs there, also.

There are many things that I am learning, and I’m sure that I will post many of those thoughts in the coming weeks.  All I want to say at this point that this is incredibly painful and sad for me to do.  My heart breaks when I think of the friends and family that I will be leaving behind.  When I came out here, I didn’t know anyone and I was far away from anyone I could call family.  But over the proceding 10 years in California, I have made so many friends and have people I can sincerely call family.  One consolation I can take is that this seperation is only for a time.  I am confident that one day we will gather around the throne of God, praising the Lamb that was slain for sinners like us.  But it does not make it any easier at the present time.  My heart is still here, but I am working at accepting God’s plan for my life and ministry, no matter what my plans were.  And I am confident that His plan for my life is best and following him with an humble heart and an eager spirit to see what He has planned.

10 comments on “God’s Plans > My Plans

  1. ElaineT says:

    Tim,
    We’ll be praying for you and Leah as you go through this big and unplanned life change.
    The Towles

  2. Pattie says:

    You are in our hearts and our prayers!

    In “Christ’s” Love,
    Bill, Pattie and Ricky

  3. Karlyn says:

    I am sad to hear this news; you and Leah have been a blessing to our family. We will keep you in our prayers.
    Karlyn

  4. Katie says:

    tim, i still cant believe this. for serious, you have been such a powerful influence in my life- and saying that you have had an INCREDIBLE impact on that church, is frankly an understatement- you have been such a force and have had such a vision. But God has a greater plan for you. and no matter how horribly painful this transition is for everyone, He will provide in way that none of us could imagine. your family is constantly in my prayers, much love, Katie

  5. Justin says:

    I don’t have words Tim. I love you and your family so very very much. If its any consolation, I think I am even more baffled than you are. But I trust in our great God. And I know you do too. Thank you for who you are.

  6. Doug says:

    As I look back over the past 20 years, I’m amazed at how God has changed things in ways I never expected.

    Even so, this is a huge adjustment, and a blow in many ways, and we’ll be praying for you.

  7. Ruth says:

    Have you ever considered becoming a senior pastor? Of course I don’t know much about much . . . but maybe you outgrew it. Yes, I think senior pastor would be a good next step for your family, in my humble opinion. : )

  8. ehudadams says:

    thank you all for the very kind words of encouragement.

    Ruth- as far as the senior pastor thing goes, God hasn’t given me that desire at this time in my life. My overwhelming desire is to teach, evangelize, and disciple students. maybe at some point down the line God may do that, but not at this point.

  9. Dino says:

    No more being called crazy nicknames…

    No more laughter upon watching unorthodox fighting techniques…

    No more being jokingly teased about playing board games involving male models and running over animals…

    I’ll miss all of that, Tim.

  10. Rick Zaman says:

    Tim,

    I had no clue, until I just read a status update on FB. Bro, I am praying for you.

    Rick

Leave a Reply

