God’s Curse Revealed- Day 2

Day 2 started off a little later than Day 1 did, but it lasted a lot longer.  We felt courageous, and decided to go from Benson, AZ to Eastland, TX.  That’s 782 horrible, flat, desolate, dead, repetative, cursed land.  Arizona was nice, but we didn’t have much left to go through and it was dark while we were driving through there.  Then we got into New Mexico and it was flat and straight, with mountains way off in the distance.  One thing that was of interest was seeing a ton of trains and lots of hills.

Then we just hit flat, horrible land.  It lasted into the rest of our time in Texas with few exceptions.  We went through El Paso and the rest was just totally drab.  Here are some thoughts from the trip:

  • Apparently El Paso is in the middle of a big Right To Life debate.  We passed four or five billboards that were all about pro-life.
  • Saw a billboard that said, “If your body is a temple, why don’t you make it worth worshiping.”  Because everyone knows you worship the temple, not what the temple was built for.  Wait…
  • You couldn’t give away most of the land in New Mexico and West Texas.  Really, its that bad.
  • The GPS betrayed us once again, sending us down a dead end street to get to the hotel.  I had to pull into a parking lot that wasn’t big enough to turn around in.  There was a boat on wheels in the parking lot that we had to push out of the way to get the truck by.  Hope they don’t mind.
  • While driving through the land, I mentioned how difficult it must be to get anything you’d want to put on a postcard.  When we stopped, I searched for some and there weren’t any at truck stop.  They proved my point.
  • I’m becoming more familiar with Weigh Stations.  We have to pull into them, but I’m not really sure why they ask the questions they do.  The point is to see how much we weigh, and that we’re legal.  But they are all concerned with where we came from and where we’re going.  Then they ask what we have in the truck.  If I were carrying nuclear warheads or illegal immigrants, do you think I would tell them I had anything other than household belongings in the back?  One guy wanted to see the rental agreement and asked who was in the passenger seat.  Did he think I had a hostage or something?  I think they ask these questions because they hate their job.  Another guy asked why I had a Boston hat on and a Virginia Tech jacket.  And this is important, why?
  • We’ve also passed quite a few border stops, as we were very close to the border.  At one, they guy asked the same questions we’d already been asked by the D.O.T., except they were valid questions in his case.  Then he asked my dad and I if we’re citizens.  Again, what answer was he expecting.  “Shoot!  You caught us.  Too bad I’ve made an oath against lies and half truths!”  Again, I don’t think they like their job.
  • The biggest tourist attraction on the way was the “Museum of Petroleum”.  No joke.  Unfortunately, it was past 5pm and we were running late as it was.
  • New Mexico’s slogan is “Land of Enchantment”.  Apparently, that only applies to the northern section of the state, because I saw nothing to back that up where I was.  More “Land of Hypnotic-landscape-that-should-be-bottled-and-sold-by-Merk-as-a-sleeping-aid-its-so-boring”.
  • I’ve decided I could have been Doc Holliday because I’m so quick with the camera.  Same reflexes.

I don’t know if I’ll post tomorrow as we’re not staying in a hotel, but driving through Dallas and stopping at visiting family near the Arkansas border.  We’ll see!

12 comments on “God’s Curse Revealed- Day 2

  1. Tamara Struck says:

    I love the line of questioning. They know they can mess with you and you can’t do a thing about it. I think they actually love their jobs just for that fact.

  2. Kevin says:

    im staright keeping posted on ur whole trip im looking forward to the next post hahah

  3. Camelia says:

    funny! Check out the few pictures I posted of your last day in California on my facebook. The way to Micah’s heart (from your day 1 blog) I thought was through playing ball with him..? Daniel says it’s through turtles.

  4. Beth says:

    There’s a guy in the lab across the hall from west texas and he goes on and on how beautiful it is there… mainly about the big sky and being able to see for miles…. I guess it’s what you’re used to.

  5. BethsMomToo says:

    I’m relieved you and Dad didn’t get tired of all the questions and decide to become humorous & creative with your responses. That might have gotten you into trouble with those guys. They probably register pretty low on the humor meter.

    That’s funny that feds in Texas think supporting a Boston baseball team or a Virginia college is suspicious activity! Ha!

    You must show a few pics of Aunt Clarice’s ranch. I’m curious. I suppose that might be tough to do if they have a lot of acres. The grazing ratio in the East is pretty high compared to the West.

  6. BethsMomToo says:

    I think even I would have skipped “The Museum of Petroleum”! [Beth had mentioned that it was a good thing I wasn’t traveling back with you because it would take so long for me to visit all the museums on they way.]

  7. ehudadams says:

    we said all of the funny things to the people after we rolled up the window, “Just don’t check the trunk (wink, wink).”

    I think they hate their job so they have to do anything they can to make it entertaining. their job is just weighing trucks and inspecting them. not questioning about a trip or whatever else. they have to compensate for their miserable lives in a hut in the middle of a God-forsaken country by giving people a hard time. Dad thinks its because they aren’t used to moving trucks like ours pulling through. so they just give us a hard time.

  8. Christina says:

    I’m so jealous. I always wanted to drive cross country.

    The only amazing part of New Mexico is Santa Fe and Taos and all those places up north. I would die for their green chile. Oh and the alien place. But there’s just weird old ladies there who run gift stores and re-tell the same story over and over and over again.

    Be safe!

  9. Pattie says:

    Gee, what were you thinking – wearing a Boston Hat and a Virginia Tech jacket!!! Next time you’ll know better! hahahaha, lol This is a trip you will most certainly tell your grand kids about. I am looking forward to the rest. Luv ya! Pattie

  10. Paul says:

    I’m liking these posts almost as much as LOST…

  11. Doug Wilcox says:

    I think you should tell ’em you have nuclear weapons and illegal immigrants in the back.

  12. Kyle says:

    Im digging the trip journal

Leave a Reply

