A Day of Rest, Kind Of

Today we started off a little later than we previously had, and woke up at 7:30.  Now that is still 5:30 California time, so it still felt fairly early to me.  But we got up refreshed after a long day of driving, knowing we only had about 4-5 hours to drive today.  The morning was made better by the make your own waffle experience in the lobby of the hotel.  The waffles were shaped like Texas.  I will put pictures up tomorrow when we’re at a hotel again. 

After chatting up a truck driver over breakfast, we set out for a relatively quick drive to Omaha, TX, where my dad’s aunt and uncle live.  The topography of East Texas is in stark contrast to West Texas.  Here, they have actual hills and trees, and the operation of a motor vehicle actually requires a steering wheel to turn the tires.  So after a few more pleasant hours of driving, we found our destination.

After meeting my great aunt for the first time in person as an adult (I know there are a lot of qualifications there), we were taken on a tour of the land by my dad’s cousin, Judy.  She brought us all around, driving through field after field, looking at cows, checking out the lay of the land, hearing stories of neighbors and whose land was whose.  We even saw a tractor dump pile!  My dad was in Heaven.  After touring all of the territory, we headed back to the house and had a great southern meal of beef brisket, potatoe salad, corn bread, and black eyed peas (the food, not the band). 

It’s been a relaxing day and like I said earlier, I’ll post some pics of the day tomorrow night when I can go online with my own laptop.  Tomorrow we’ll head off and finish Texas off, go through Arkansas, and end in Tennessee, a little past Nashville.  Three more days of driving!

2 comments on “A Day of Rest, Kind Of

  1. BethsMomToo says:

    Just don’t let Dad bring any antique tractors home! Good thing the truck is full-up!

  2. Beth says:

    Makes me want to go down and visit random relatives I don’t know very well!

Leave a Reply

