Life As It Is Today

As you’ve probably noticed, since I’ve moved to NH, I haven’t update this much.   And if I have, it probably just consists of a picture dump of my adorable child so people can see how adorable he is.  But I have heard rumblings from far and wide, national and international (Bob), that people desire to hear how things here are going and how I’m doing.  So here is an update!

I just finished my first few weeks at The Home Depot, working in the Garden/Seasonal department.  Its only a temporary job, and it doesn’t pay enough for me to support my family in the long run, so who knows how long this will be.  But I’m learning lots of stuff I never knew before and I should be able to use a lot of this stuff later in life.  In the first week I had to learn all about grass seed, fertilizer, mulch, stones, patios, hoses, sprinklers, annuals, perennials, trees, shrubs, potting soil, chainsaws, trimmers, hedge trimmers, pressure washers, riding lawn mowers, push mowers, pool cleaners, grills, blowers, vacuum blowers, patio furniture, pesticides, herbicides, as well as the whole cleaning aisle, bird seed/houses, gardening tools, and everything else garden.  On top of that was all the Home Depot stuff, philosophy, computer system, schedules, customer service, and, most importantly, who to not make mad and how to avoid doing that.

So its been a very productive month as far as that goes.  One of the things I was looking forward to was working in an environment that was so different than a church.  Its been a long time since I’ve been around so many ‘unchurched’ people, most of whom don’t know or care that I was a pastor.  Even if they do, they don’t change how they would act around me.  I haven’t heard this much profanity and vulgar speech since I was in high school, and even then it wasn’t close to this.

I have enjoyed getting to know so many new people and have made it my mission to be a light for the Gospel, through actions and words.  I know that I don’t know how long I have there, so it gives it a little urgency.  This last week I started having conversations, when appropriate, and steering things towards the Gospel.  I’ve also tried to let everyone know what I used to do, hoping it creates opportunities for Christ centered conversations.

So how long will I be working there?  My attitude is I’m working there tomorrow, so that’s where God has me.  Sometimes when I’m doing something like sweeping the outside garden area or knee deep in ripped fertilizer bags I find myself amazed that just a few months ago I was a youth pastor in Southern California.  It is amazing how much God can redirect your life in such a short amount of time!

One comment on “Life As It Is Today

  1. Beth says:

    “fertilizer bags”.. .would that be cow manure compost? I got my PhD in cow manure, sheep manure, chicken manure, pig manure… it’s funny how spending time doing complete manual labor around farm animals in the 90 degree heat or blizzard makes any other job seem like you really aren’t “earning” your paycheck… I’m so thankful that most days… I think… really? you’re paying me for this?. When I hear how people complain how we have to go downstairs to the (highly ventilated and temperature controlled) animal facility I laugh…
    You may be the only Christian they know or will ever meet!

Leave a Reply

